Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I just made these, and they turned out great! Per the suggestions of some, I used melted butter and buttermilk. I added all the liquids to all the dry ingredients and then blended with a light hand, as you would with muffins, to keep them light and textured. I used a recipe for Krispy Kreme glaze, and that's made a big difference. It's basically the same as this recipe's glaze with melted butter added AND I dipped them in the glaze the second they were out of the pan (or 2 minutes out of oven). That way the glaze gets absorbed into the donut, very lush. I'll be tweaking, but it's a wonderful basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
It's a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Toughness is caused by overbeating the batter. Solution: Put the flour in a separate bowl and put aside. In a different bowl mix everything but the flour. When you have a nice wet mixture, SLOWLY, gently, pour it into the flour and then GENTLY BLEND it into the flour. DON'T BEAT IT. Use gentle motions to mix it all together. Flour is usually sifted or comes pre-sifted in order to have extra air put into it to cause it to rise light and fluffy. If you add everything immediately to the flour, you will need to beat it pretty hard in order to incorporate those whole eggs, etc., into the flour. If you beat hard, you are eliminating any extra air in the flour and that's why the donuts become tough. The best motion is less motion. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Bad texture, terrible taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great doughnuts! Used 2 tablespoons of melted butter instead of shortening as suggested and baked in the oven using round bun tins (not muffin tins, but the small patty tins)! Turned out great in 10 mins. Brushed with melted butter and sprinkled with caster sugar they tasted great eaten warm. Made 24 in total so going to have the rest for tea spread with choc spread and sprinkles, yummy! Great with a cup of coffee too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Leete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I just tried these oven baked donuts and they are delicious! They are light, not heavy like cake donuts. I read the previous reviews and did use buttermilk and 2T of melted butter in place of shortening and regular milk. I have a donut pan that makes six donuts. I filled the cuts up 3/4, baked at 400 degrees for 8-9 minutes, no longer. Let them set for a few minutes before you take out of the pan. The next six donuts I added cocoa to the batter to make chocolate donuts! Delicious! I made the glaze as the recipe calls for and dipped the donuts in sprinkles. I will definitely make these donuts again and I recommend them to you too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I just finished making these Fluffy Cake Doughnuts with my 10 year old identical twin Granddaughters. They love to cook and I saw this online. We followed the chef "Jmyslin" instructions about using butter instead of shortening and butter milk instead of regular milk. I must also add that I have a Baby Cakes electric mini doughnut maker that I wasn't sure that I was happy with because everytime I used it the doughnuts were horrible. As it turns out these came out GREAT! Everyone including my Husband said they were really good. The amount of spice was just right, and we coated them with the butter and cinnamon sugar mixture. In the mini doughnut maker I got exactly 32 doughnuts, so it makes quite a bit. They were NOT rubbery, but came out fluffy, light and just like store bought cake doughnts inside. They are still soft after a few hours which is more than I can say for other recipes that hardened as soon as they cooled. I don't know why there were negative ratings on these, because they are good and very easy. I put the dough in a plastic bag and snipped a corner and put it into the wells of the mini doughnut maker that way. Was very easy, mess proof and they all came out uniform. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Dry, and the nutmeg and cinnamon was not a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Great recipe for a kids' party! I also used 1 T of butter instead of shortening and "sour" milk instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States