Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Murphy5
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
These turned out wonderful! Very light and tasty! I used white whole wheat flour and sour milk, and replaced the shortening with butter. Then baked for 9-10 minutes at 385 degrees. The higher temp seemed to help them bake more fully. I topped them with a crunch topping made of toasted coconut, brown sugar, a little cinnamon and powdered sugar, lightly processed in my food processor. Glaze donuts first, then roll in topping. They looked and tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is so good! I followed the suggestion on the first comment to omit the cinnamon and replace the shortening with butter. I also dipped it in melted butter and cinnamon-sugar after it was baked. It was sooo good! It disappeared in minutes before I could even take a picture. Will definitely make this again, and again, and again. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sblasi
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Very easy and tasty! The glaze was the perfect compliment and my girls loved adding their own sprinkles on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
definitely improved with "JMYSLINs'" inputs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devasena Vathyam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Did not have a great consistency, felt rather dense and the taste was average. Used my special donut pans and was hoping for a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ria Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was my first donut baking experiment and I thought they were great! I will try using buttermilk next time. My husband loved them and the glaze was simple and the best part! We added pineapple juice to the glaze and it helped make the donut softer as I baked it a minute or so too long. We used a giant donut pan and mini muffin pans. Loved them both! So fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamKrason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I liked this a lot! Tastes more like cake than greasy doughnut. It was a refreshing change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Okay in a pinch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
These are incredible! I took the advice of some here and used buttermilk instead of milk and melted butter instead of shortening. I love the way they come out! I put the dough in a gallon-sized plastic bag, cut a tiny corner off and piped them into my donut pan -- much easier to work with the dough that way, and they come out pretty and perfectly round. Instead of the glaze, I dipped them in melted butter and then in a cinnamon-sugar mix -- delish, and the finish gives the donuts a toasty color, like they were fried. Yummmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These weren't fluffy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fit_chick

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States