Fluffy Boiled Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
VERY GOOD RECIPE, JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
This frosting was delicious and fluffy right after being prepared, but after sitting overnight, it lost all of it's fluff and dried up into a thin crust. Unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
I tried this and replaced cherry juice for the water and it came out wonderful and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
This recipe will not hold its shape as it was represented for outside activities. It sort of melt. It dried out in places that was thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This was a great recipe! The icing was heavenly, though it did require undivided attention while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lanett, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
This was exactly the recipe that I was looking for! I love this icing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
After making this recipie the icing hardened right away and became to crusty and stiff to use. I do have a feeling that the sugar may have boiled a little too long. It tastes good, though; but, I can't spread it on a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This is a really great icing recipe. I used it to make a flag cake and made all of the recommendations on the All Recipes article. Although this recipe did need your full attention at all times, it was delicious, easy to spread, and looked fantastic. Thank you for the great recipe- I will for sure be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I loved this recipe - just like Grandma's! I was a little worried I wouldn't know what the "spin a long thread when a little is dropped from a spoon" part looked like but it was pretty obvious once it happened. I kept some cupcakes covered on the counter and the icing did harden a little the next day; the others I kept in the fridge and the icing was still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Followed the instructions exactly except I used cherry juice instead of water. It turned out perfect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABORELLO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States