Fluffy Boiled Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was great...not too sweet. Will definitley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedee2ks
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This is a good one... it is so fluffy... and white, perfect for the flag cake. It does seem to have the constancy of marshmallows. I'm on day two, and it has not gotten hard like others have written, but I did refrigerate the left over cake and wrap with saran rap. This would be GREAT inside to chocolate cookies like Moon-Pies! I'm going to try that next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
though i never tried it before,this recipe is great. but i recomend using paste colors, and 1/8 tsp of cream of tartar instead of salt. also it reminded me of the filling in cream horns....it's so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I have been using this recipe for 10 years now. This is a classic, soft, fluffy and not so sweet frosting. This goes well with sponge cakes. This is also the very first frosting I have ever used and I absolutely loved it! I am using this recipe right now for my cakes in my cake shop. It is a hit! The costumers loved it because it is fluffy and it's great for decorating cakes and cupcakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cam_JaZz_Hale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Great recipe! so white and fluffy. Not too sweet. Probably not great for detailed decorating. It looks like dairy queen soft serve ice cream or whipped marshmallows. If you don't use a thermometer then you may run into trouble. The first time I made it I thought that I had boiled it for what seemed like an eternity but when I checked it with the thermometer it wasn't quite ready. You can get a thermometer at Michaels. Well worth it This is my go to recipe unless I use cream cheese or choc icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Wow is all I can say about this recipe. I just made it for the 4th of July Flag cake and it came out so nice. Yes, it did take a while(at least 1/2 hour) to come to the consistency it was supposed to be but it was worth the effort. It tastes and spreads wonderfully. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzyq

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This frosting took 90 minutes to make. I thought it was good alone, but on the cake nobody liked it. It also was impossible to color with food dye. It takes way too long for mediocre results, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
What a great frosting. I did not use vanilla and quite frankly, I didn't miss it. The recipe was very accurate. I did need to add some powdered sugar to increase the thickness. Don't be afraid that it's not thick enough. If you try to ice your cake you will see that it just looks thin. It has the consistency of whipped cream. I can't see using this as a decorating icing. This was perfect for the cupcakes I made and the amount was enough to ice 26 average cupcakes. This is a perfect marshmallow icing and I sprinkled some coconut to half of the cakes. Thank you for this recipe. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakecookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This is a definite keeper. I printed the recipe out with photos and everything to remember. This recipe goes so well with those July the 4 cakes with the strawberries and blueberries, and everything inbetween! We had so much fun making this. Be careful to estimate the correct time the mixture has been in saucepan. We threw the first batch out and it was rock hard!! The corn syrup will solidify. The second batch was much better. This whips up so well on almost anything and is easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankiAndPaul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I've made this twice now and it turned out great. I do use a candy thermometer though and clear vanilla extract. I Love how white this frosting is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States