Flower Power Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I just made regular cupcakes and decorated them like this. It was fun once I figured out how to cut the marshmallow, in fact that was the hardest part. So, lay the marshmallow on it's side in the palm of your hand and then smash it down with your other hand. Then take your scissors and cut petals, it may take a few practice cuts and a few marshmallows, but it's really cute. I also made some colored sugar and dipped the sticky side of the marshmallow in it and I used m&m's as the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Oh my goodness. I have had my eye on this recipe for some time, just waiting for the perfect event to make these for. Today we had a potluck to attend and I decided this was finally the right occasion. I was a bit hesitant, thinking these would be time consuming and still not turn out how the picture shows them, which is just so cute. I did make a few changes because I could not keep these refrigerated, and I have made "poke" cakes before, and we didn't enjoy them. I skipped the step with the gelatin. I also used a buttercream frosting instead of cool whip. For the center of the flower, I used a lemon head candy. It amazed me how much cutting a marshmallow resembled a flower petal. Adding different colored sugars make these adorable. No joke, all 24 of these were gone in minutes at the potluck. I had some very disappointed kids wondering if I had more in my car because they did not get one. So, next time, I'll have to double the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Fabulous idea, and very easy to make. I used my clean kitchen shears and it's amazing how much the cut up marshmallow assumes a petal shape. I decorated the sides of a cake with the petals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
5 starts just for the decorating! I didn't use the cupcake recipe provided, just a regular box recipe. I made these for my 5 yr. olds Tinkerbelle party and they were perfect! Instead of just bringing cupcakes to her classroom, I brought everything to decorate them with and let the kids do their own. Super easy and the kids loved doing it themselves. All I had to do was cut the marshmellows. If I had known that the kids would've done such a great job decorating, I would've let them decorate their own at the birthday party too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Easy to make and delicious! My daughter and I are making these for her 3rd birthday. This is a recipe she can help me with!! Yay!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daburgers
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I think this was one of the cutest ways to present cupcakes. I used the M&M for the center and tinted white frosting. I would suggest using whatever cupcake/frosting combo you like best. Decorating was simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Honestly, I wasn't a big fan. The cupcake itself had a weird texture...probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Very cute cupcakes. I made my own cupcake batter but i decorated some cupcakes like the ones in the photo. I gree with the previous reviews - a bit tedious, but i got a lot of complements - from both kids and adults! i also decorated flower cupcakes with pieces of laffy taffy and shaped it into tear-shaped petals and placed an m&m in the middle. Then i sprinkled it with colored sugar. They looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Great Idea!!! These turned out sooo cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAHLIA0801

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
We just made a box cake, but used this idea for decorating the cupcakes with the flowers. They turned out adorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Haner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States