Flourless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Made this earlier today and it was amazing. I had to make my own semi-sweet chocolate, but after everything together, it was perfect. It does have a dense quality, but not that of a brownie, in my opinion. It's more like a Lava Cake. It doesn't really rise, but that's fine, because a little bit goes pretty far and has no problem curing my sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I didnt add the cocoa...tasted like chocolate eggs to me. Maybe I did this wrong?? Followed this recipe word for word except the cocoa..I wasnt very fond of it. But thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalKiara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This recipe is delicious, but I tried twice, and could not get the cake out of the pan in one piece. It cracked and fell apart. I used my cookie scoop and make cake balls out of it, dusting half of the balls with cocoa and half with powdered sugar. On my second attempt, I left it in the pan and dusted it with powdered sugar over a heart shaped paper doily, then carefully removed the doily. It camouflaged the cracks well! Maybe I should bake it longer than 30 minutes next time. I'm not sure why I am having trouble getting it out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I took the advice of others & used 8 oz of semi sweet chocolate & left out the cocoa. Melted the butter & choc in the microwave in a 4 cup measuring cup & mixed in the other ingredients. Baked in a 9" cake pan at 325 degrees for 30 minutes. I greased & floured with cocoa & had no stick issues. I couldn't wait 10 minutes. I flipped it out of the pan after 5 minutes. I think I could have cooked for 5 more minutes as it was slightly gooey in places, but overall, it was awesome! Served with vanilla ice cream & a small amount of chocolate syrup. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This cake was a hit with my entire family! My husband who has gone gluten free especially liked it. He liked the brownie texture. It was difficult to get out of the pan without destroying it though. Awesome with vanilla ice cream! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Tried this recipe earlier today. Since my husband and I don't mind and have no problem with Gluten then I added 1/2 cup all purpose flour, thought it would give more volume. Turned out good, but I just feel it is a bit dry. I kinda regret putting flour, but it worth experimenting. Next time I'll try the recipe as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aktifistri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Perfect for the gluten free birthday boy, like a very fudgy brownie. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this for the first time last night for an 8 person birthday dinner. The British birthday girl is historically hard to please when it comes to desserts as she does not really like sweet, sugary things. When I saw the number of people I thought the cake wasn't going to be enough, but it turned out to be the perfect size. I used Ghiradelli dark chocolate squares (cheaper at Marshall's than the grocery) which turned out to be a very good choice. When I was dislodging the baked cake from the pan to the cooling rack, it cracked in the top a little which led to my decision to frost it -- another a good choice. I melted 4 more squares of Ghiradelli and some butter and topped it off. I meant to get raspberries to garnish but forgot so I snipped a few petals of beautiful sage out of my garden and put it in the center. It was lovely and I told the birthday girl it was a metaphor for her wisdom. After the first bite the hard-to-please birthday girl told me it was "excellent" and "better than (her chocolate cake)" which was followed by several similar compliments by the other guests. I was so pleased. The cake was so easy to make and it turned out to be beautiful, decadent, and gourmet-like. I plan to make this recipe a default for future special occasion cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
while the recipe is delicious, it is ABSOLUTELY IMPOSSIBLE to get it out of the pan with out it turning to complete mush! I baked it threes times, all with the same outcome. I ended up cutting the cake into small pieces to get it out of the pan and covering it in the ganache icing and passing it off as fudge pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This was too much like a brownie unfortunately. Maybe beating the egg whites separately and creating some volume would fix that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States