Flourless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
In a word AMAZING! Got rave reviews by all who ate it! I used Hersey's Special Dark cocoa powder (I think it tastes better than the more expensive brands). I topped this with ganache (Ingrid Vogele's recipe from this site) and mini chocolate chips around the outer edge. Simple to make, looks great and tastes even better, thanks so much for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by BridgetteF
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I have to give this 5 stars because I can't think of any reason not to. I practically licked my plate clean. I don't believe this cake rose at all (which makes sense with the lack of leavening agent). It was relatively simple to mix together. Gooey brownie-like texture. Rich flavor but delicious and not overpowering. Powerful flavor so you won't want to eat the whole cake but still be satisfied. Tastes like a lot of calories but its not. Would be great with fresh raspberries or raspberry sauce. The best way for me to describe this would be costco muffins, triple chocolate cookies and the best brownies all wrapped into one. Love! Oh and I baked for about 40 minutes, checking after 20 minutes with a thin blade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BridgetteF

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I loved this, but made a few changes. I did 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of semisweet chips instead of the squares. I melted the chips and the butter in the microwave instead of the double broiler. Quicker and much easier for me. I garnish with cream cheese icing and sliced strawberries on top. Delicious and gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dessertmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
this was good in terms of super simple and totally squashed my out-of-nowhere-super-intense need for chocolate. 30 mins at 300 degs cant possible be the correct temp&time.. im kind of surprised only a few other reviews mentioned that. maybe my oven,thermometer,and timer all malfunctioned?? in any case, i kept this in for 30 mins at 300, and it was completely raw in the middle, kept it in for another 15 at 325. it was still a bit underdone at that point, but i just wanted my fix so i took it out. i just made this but it seems like it will hold in taste for at least a week. Might even freeze a bit for when the next craving hits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was a hit for Christmas dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Wow! Need I say more !? A true Chocoholic will understand this comment. I made this for our New Year's Eve party (the night before) and it was amazing. One of our good friends cannot have Gluten so this recipe was perfect for her. All of the women indulged in this little piece of heaven. The "cake" comes out very thin but as other reviewers noted, it is rich so don't worry. I heated it for 15seconds in teh microwave and added chocolate sauce and Vanilla ice cream, YUMMY! Based on other comments I left mine in the oven for 35 mins, not sure if this was really necessary. The cake is quite fragile so be careful when taking it out the tine. I used a disposable 8 inch tin and had no problems with sticking. Used parchment paper on the bottom and cocoa powder on the sides. Will make again in a heart beat. Very quick and easy to do, not a lot of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RDCollins
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
A chocolate lover's delight! Very easy and quick to make, excellent flavor and texture, absolutely no need for frosting, IMHO, but ice cream or whipped cream (or both!) is a must. Use good-quality BITTERSWEET (baking) chocolate for best results, as in the original recipe published in Gourmet Magazine in November 1997. (Gourmet also omitted the vanilla, which is unnecessary but can't hurt.) BTW, this is a typical flourless cake -- thin (about 3/4 of an inch thick) and very dense, somewhat like a chewy brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDCollins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This cake was absolutely fantastic! I took a chance and made this for the first time, for a Christmas potluck (without first testing it)... got nothing but rave reviews and requests for the recipe. (they even ate the crumbs off the plate). :-) Used the tip about using '2' 4-oz bars of Ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate and omitting the cocoa powder - baked in a 9" pan for the same amount of time in the directions. I would DEFINITELY recommend using Bittersweet instead of Semi-sweet ~ more intense chocolate without being over-bearingly sweet. I personally am a food (especially dessert) snob :-) ~ I was thoroughly impressed! Would give this 20 stars if I had the option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Turner's Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
My husband has a wheat allergy and really misses cake. He loved this and so did the rest of us. It was an easy recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turner's Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made using light butter and Splenda Blend. Came out wonderfully and no one knew the difference. Big hit with the family at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States