Flourless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by E C Kelly
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
A chocolate lovers dream! So very easy to make, but the end result is so deceptively "complex" - always a hit with everyone who tries it. I like to top mine with a dark chocolate ganache, which adds a nice creamy layer to the top of the cake (as well as a smooth, glassy look). Great with fresh strawberries! This is a recipe I will always come back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is absolutely amazing and so easy to make. It reminds me of fudge. This is sure to be a hit at our family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Awesome cake. Used semi-sweet chocolate chips and quickly melted them in microwave with the butter. Used eggs laid same day and separated the whites and beat them until peaks formed then folded them into the rest of the blended ingredients. Baked it in my toaster oven for 35 minutes. Finished it after it cooled with sifted powder sugar. Next time I will have fresh picked raspberries and whipped cream to serve with it. If I hadn't forgotten to buy flour for the pantry, I never would have found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I made this with only two changes : used 8oz. of semi-sweet chips instead of squares and cocoa powder. (what I had on hand) I sprinkled chopped walnuts on the top of the cake before baking. I chose not to frost the cake although I did drizzled melted chocolate to create a beautiful cake. Got great raves from my bible study group. They requested I make this cake again. Thank you for a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very great gluten free option! I brought it to work as a tester and everyone loved it! My Gluten free friend hid the cake on the other guests. Turned out more like a brownie though- not a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made this exactly as stated! I thought it was really good and chocolatey. I can't believe there is no flour in it! Even though it is perfect, I might try adding a Tbs. Of cinnamon or melted chocolate for an icing just to have something different every now and then but it really doesn't need changing. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
My niece has a gluten intolerance so I try to find desserts she can eat. This has far and away been the easiest of the flourless chocolate cakes I've made and it's incredibly rich and decadent. I also have a super-simple chocolate glaze recipe that I use instead of frosting it. Whoa!! I will say that I had to increase the temp a little because the first time i made it after 30 minutes the inside was basically soup. But this was a big hit and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Recipes like this are the reason I like this site so much. I bake a lot but had no idea how to make the flourless chocolate cake my husband likes in restaurants - I even thought I might buy one, but it was easy to achieve perfection! I read these reviews, and thanks to one who said the cocoa imparts a brownie flavor, I omitted it and used half a bag of semi-sweet chips and small box of TJ's dark chocolate valentines truffles (recommend seasonal clearanced chocolate = cheap and fresh). So I cut down the sugar, melted chocolates and butter in the microwave. Stir OFTEN and keep water away from melting chocolate. Baked in a spring form pan using spray and cocoa on the bottom, but I did have to bake it honestly 20 minutes longer to set at such a low temperature. Voila - fantastique! Also divine reheated in microwave for 15 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
After reading the reviews, I made the following changes: Used 8 oz of semisweet baking chocolate and eliminated the cocoa powder. Separated the eggs and whipped the egg whites before folding into the rest of the mixture. I brought this to a dinner party last night and served it topped with whipped cream and fresh raspberries. Not a crumb was left and everyone wanted the recipe! We paired this dessert with a bottle of 7 Deadly Zins wine from Sonoma Valley which turned out to be an excellent pairing! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe, Shana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atbarber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very rich and dense, but delicious. We serverd ours with rasberries and real whipped cream! Perfect for those who cannont have gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States