Flourless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was so easy, and a perfect gluten-free dessert for a simple salad bar lunch....I followed the directions almost exactly. But I forgot to turn the cake out to finish cooling on a rack. So it was hard to get the first piece out! I think next time I make this, I will put a piece of waxed paper or parchment paper on the bottom of the pan, then grease and use the cocoa powder on top of the paper. My husband liked this cake so much, he is going to make enough of them to serve 100 people at a community New Year's Eve dinner! He is planning on dribbling carmel sauce on the plate, add the piece of cake, and put a dollop of whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Absolutely sublime! Made this for a gluten-free friend and loved it so much made it again the same week for a family birthday. So decadent, deep chocolate flavor, silky texture - yep. It's a keeper. I had to substitute half bittersweet chocolate, half milk chocolate chips because that's what I had on hand, so I cut the sugar in the sugar-water mixture down by half. I was worried it might be too sweet but nope, it was perfect! Served with powdered sugar on top and a plum sauce on the side. This cake was better than desserts I've had in fine restaurants. My husband and I fought over the last piece lol! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
While I've made better flourless chocolate cakes this was still easy and incredible tasting! The other recipes call for so much more chocolate and are more expensive to make. This one goes together about as fast as any box mix would (I melted the chocolate and butter together in the microwave at 50% power for about one and a half minutes, stirred until the chocolate was completely melted, then stirred the rest of the ingredients into that bowl, and had only one bowl to clean). My boyfriend absolutely loved this! I used 4oz Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate, which I think was really good in this and I prefer it to the semisweet- I believe a chocolate dessert is only as good as the quality of chocolate used, and Ghirardelli's bittersweet is the most affordable and readily available of my favorite chocolates. We made this at my boyfriends house and he had Hershey's cocoa powder (I usually use Dutch processed from Penzy's, but this was very good, and I will use it again) and only a 9" cake pan, so I reduced the temperature to 275 degrees because the batter was thinner in the pan. The results were rich and decadent and extremely chocolaty. We put some whipped cream on top. It was great warm, but I liked it even better cold the next morning. He took the rest to his son in a care package to take back to school with him. Now I have to make another one! Like I mentioned above, I really appreciate how inexpensive this is to make. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Very nice and EASY. Only next time I will use a wax paper under... The cake broke to pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I had high hopes for this recipe and I made it for my fiancé and his family for his birthday. MAJOR issue: the cake will not come out of the pan if prepared as written. I heavily greased the pan. Must use wax paper or something in the pan or use another recipe for better instructions. Tastes good, but is practically just a fudge. I'd recommend a different recipe or prepare this in individual saucers so it won't have to be removed from the cooking pan. Check out the recipe for The Black Beast; I'll make it next time and it was highly recommended by a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Amazing cake. Can be eaten warm with ice cream or with fresh fruit. Doesn't even need a frosting. Some reviews mentioned the cocoa makes it gritty but I disagree. No grittiness. All my coworkers loved it. Would not change a thing on this recipe. It's perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I have been making this for years and I LOVE it! It always gets rave reviews and people are so impressed because it's such a sophisticated dessert even though it's really easy to make. I make it exactly like the recipe states and it turns out great. Delicious served with raspberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
So easy. Followed the directions exactly EXCEPT I heated the chocolate and butter on lowest heat in a sauce pan on the stove. Also, glazed it with chocolate after. I actually like it better chilled then hot. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
just made this recipe - used 1 cup chocolate chips instead of chocolate and cocoa - as per some reviewers advice. so.. I ended up having to bake it and extra 50 MINUTES for a toothpick to come out clean.. at which time my bf asked if it was burning.. i took it out, it was beautiful,cooled it for 15 minutes and it had sank a tremendous amount. it came out fine (with parchment, grease and cocoa, and to my surprise - the bottom edges were burnt and the middle was gooey & wet.i am a trained culinary student and i have a brand new 36" gas convection oven.. so its not bc of lack of experience or a weak oven. not sure what happened here. very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Absolutely delicious! One of my goals, after being diagnosed with Celiac's Disease, was to adapt all my favorite family recipes to be gluten free. When I read this recipe, it provided me the basis for modifying my family’s Texas Sheet Cake recipe. Here are the changes I made to turn this flourless cake recipe into my version of Texas Sheet Cake. #1 – I doubled everything in the recipe with the exception of the eggs. I only used 3 eggs. #2 – I melted the butter and chocolate (I used semi-sweet chocolate chips) in the microwave. #3 – I used Mexican vanilla in the batter instead of regular vanilla. #4 – I poured the mixture into a small 16x11 sheet pan (lined with parchment paper, greased with butter and dusted in cocoa powder) and baked as directed. #5 – Instead of topping with ganache, I used this icing recipe. 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional), 1 stick butter, 3 tablespoons cocoa powder, 6 tablespoons milk, 1 pound confectioner sugar, 1 teaspoon regular vanilla. Mix butter, cocoa and milk. Heat over a low heat. Remove and add sugar, vanilla and nuts. Pour over cake and spread. I now have a gluten free version of my families Texas Sheet Cake. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States