Flourless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was fabulous but it needed a little sweetness-I used a chocolate frosting/glaze recipe I made up and it really bumped it up a notch. The texture is similar to the black bean brownie recipe I found on this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Awesome!! Made it exactly as written. So simple to put together. I highly recommend it for any occassion. It can really be thrown together last minute, if you have the chocolate on hand. I understand the comparison to a brownie, but.... the texture is way different! It is silky and smooth. Decadent is the best word for it. It is to brownies, what a quality chocolate truffle is to a "candy bar". Both are good, but...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I made this recipe for my dad who has celiac disease and requires a gluten free diet. I followed the recipe as written and served with strawberries and vanilla ice cream. I'm not giving this five stars because as a "cake", it disappoints. However, it is a great brownie. It is very fudgy, moist, and dense (not cake-like at all). I would make this again as a brownie in a heartbeat. Also, for those who require gluten free diets, this recipe is way better (and cheaper!) than the packaged GF brownie mixes you buy at the health store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
really great recipe. I served them warm with a caramel sauce and whipped cream and i got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
this tasted great! it was very brownie-like, which i didn't really expect. but we still enjoyed it. tastes even better the next day. i doubled the recipe because i only have a 10" springform and was afraid it would be too thin otherwise. also, i greased the pan, lined with parchment and grease the parchment. it came out of the pan with no trouble at all. topped with homemade whipped cream and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelltang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
dryyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Awesome! So easy. Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I find this cake to be very pleasing as a relatively traditional flourless chocolate cake. It is very dense and rich, with nice texture. Enjoy sliced with berries and unsweetened whipped cream. I have used this recipe in the restaurant where I work and it is always a hit. Chef's tip, be sure to avoid over mixing or under mixing the cake batter. Mix just until everything is fully incorporated. I have probably made this about 20 times, and always turns out. I don't recommend the "custom versions".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastrylady

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is a Very Rich Cake. Something you don't want to eat very often. BUT, when you do, it is DELICIOUS. It is a very dense cake as well. If you want a Lighter cake: 1. Separate the egg whites from the yokes and place in separate bowls. 2. Whip the egg whites until they are fluffy and form stiff peaks(DON'T OVER BEAT) 3. Whisk the YOKES into the warm chocolate mixture one at a time. 4. Follow by FOLDING with a spatula the egg whites 1 scoop at a time until everything is incorporated. this will get you a fluffier cake. some people like it dense so do as you like... GREAT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Excellent! Note: the way to avoid the graininess of the cocoa is to SIFT it into the batter. It comes out smooth as silk and has that added richness that the chocolate bars alone can't deliver!!! I also made it in a springform pan, cut a piece of wax paper to fit, sprayed it with Pam and dusted it with cocoa. No problem inverting onto another plate. Cooked it at 375 degrees for 20 minutes in my convection oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States