Flourless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Was THE best cake we've had! Substituted Coconut Oil for the butter (use 50% of the amount called for) and raw cane sugar (and cut it down to less than half of what was called for). Frosting was coconut oil, powdered sugar and vanilla extract. Top it off with fresh raspberries and you have our new fav dessert! I live in Switzerland so we have fabulous baking chocolate here and used virgin coco oil brought in from the US. THANK YOU- this was fabulous and easy and I'm making it for the second time now! Let's see how it turns out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
We made a few changes to this recipe and LOVED the result! We substituted 1/2 cup honey for the white sugar, and made our own baking chocolate by combining 3 Tbsp cocoa with 1 Tbsp butter for every ounce that was required. The result was an incredibly chocolatey smooth cake that came out of the oven with its own frosting. It had a melt-in-your-mouth texture and did not sit on the counter very long! We ate ours without whip cream or ice cream, and loved the intense chocolate taste. We will definitely be making this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I make this alll the time, and it is always a major hit, for my husbands holidays, and my gluten free friend, I need to double the recipe to feed all, and it works. I top it with whipped cream that I mix espresso into. Making it today for a dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I tried using all chocolate bars like a reviewer suggested but the "cake" ended up more like fudge. I will try again using the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I had this dessert in a restaurant and really enjoyed it, so looked up recipes to try to bake it myself. I tried this recipe just because it was quicker than the cake I version. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out beautifully. The texture was exactly what I was looking for. Other reviewers have compared it to a brownie but I do not agree with this at all. It is dense, moist, intensely chocolatey and just the right amount of sweetness. And simple as can be to make! I saved even more time by melting the chocolate and butter in the microwave, and I lined the pan with a circle of parchment paper, then sprayed with Pam and backed for 30 minutes- no trouble at all turning it out onto a rack after 15 minutes cooling time. This recipe definitely goes into my winning line-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This cake is delicious and perfect for someone who can't eat gluten and I would recommend it to even those who can. To make it a bit healthier I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup, substituted 1/2 cup canola oil for butter and added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. The texture was heavenly and while it was less sweet with the reduced sugar, it tasted perfect to my palate. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I have made this cake a couple of times now and it always turns out perfectly. I sometimes substitute cocoa powder and veg.oil for chocolate when I don't have any on hand. i like to top it with fresh whipped cream and berries. I have also halved this recipe with no problem. When I halve it I use it to make a thinner cake which I then use as base to a chocolate mousse cake. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieMonster

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
just made this for my family. used coconut oil instead of butter and it tasts AMAZING!!! wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Mmmm tasted like brownies! Perfect for all of us non-glutenites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwing10101010

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Just like it is! Don't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States