Flourless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
this was good in terms of super simple and totally squashed my out-of-nowhere-super-intense need for chocolate. 30 mins at 300 degs cant possible be the correct temp&time.. im kind of surprised only a few other reviews mentioned that. maybe my oven,thermometer,and timer all malfunctioned?? in any case, i kept this in for 30 mins at 300, and it was completely raw in the middle, kept it in for another 15 at 325. it was still a bit underdone at that point, but i just wanted my fix so i took it out. i just made this but it seems like it will hold in taste for at least a week. Might even freeze a bit for when the next craving hits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was a hit for Christmas dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Wow! Need I say more !? A true Chocoholic will understand this comment. I made this for our New Year's Eve party (the night before) and it was amazing. One of our good friends cannot have Gluten so this recipe was perfect for her. All of the women indulged in this little piece of heaven. The "cake" comes out very thin but as other reviewers noted, it is rich so don't worry. I heated it for 15seconds in teh microwave and added chocolate sauce and Vanilla ice cream, YUMMY! Based on other comments I left mine in the oven for 35 mins, not sure if this was really necessary. The cake is quite fragile so be careful when taking it out the tine. I used a disposable 8 inch tin and had no problems with sticking. Used parchment paper on the bottom and cocoa powder on the sides. Will make again in a heart beat. Very quick and easy to do, not a lot of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RDCollins
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
A chocolate lover's delight! Very easy and quick to make, excellent flavor and texture, absolutely no need for frosting, IMHO, but ice cream or whipped cream (or both!) is a must. Use good-quality BITTERSWEET (baking) chocolate for best results, as in the original recipe published in Gourmet Magazine in November 1997. (Gourmet also omitted the vanilla, which is unnecessary but can't hurt.) BTW, this is a typical flourless cake -- thin (about 3/4 of an inch thick) and very dense, somewhat like a chewy brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDCollins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This cake was absolutely fantastic! I took a chance and made this for the first time, for a Christmas potluck (without first testing it)... got nothing but rave reviews and requests for the recipe. (they even ate the crumbs off the plate). :-) Used the tip about using '2' 4-oz bars of Ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate and omitting the cocoa powder - baked in a 9" pan for the same amount of time in the directions. I would DEFINITELY recommend using Bittersweet instead of Semi-sweet ~ more intense chocolate without being over-bearingly sweet. I personally am a food (especially dessert) snob :-) ~ I was thoroughly impressed! Would give this 20 stars if I had the option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Turner's Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
My husband has a wheat allergy and really misses cake. He loved this and so did the rest of us. It was an easy recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turner's Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made using light butter and Splenda Blend. Came out wonderfully and no one knew the difference. Big hit with the family at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
more like a fudgy brownie but delicious anyway! had a housefull of little boys and they ate this entire thing in a matter of seconds. they had no idea it was gluten free. keeping this baby in my rotation! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
So good! I made 1 1/2 batch and cooked it a little longer. It was smooth, not gritty at all, and perfect for my guests who could not eat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Really delicious...better than a brownie! soo easy and seems so elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States