Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Made this for my GF daughter and son. It is a very rich dessert, very chocolatey. Some suggestions for those who said it had an eggy taste. You must incorporate the eggs well and I temper the eggs so that they don't scramble. What I do is to add a little of the warm sugar water to the eggs so they don't scramble. Then I fold in already beaten egg whites whipped to soft peak stage. Bake in a spring form pan greased well and line the bottom with greased parchment paper. Cover the outside bottom and up the sides of the pan with foil. You do not have to rest the pan in water. You can add a pan of boiling water on the bottom of the oven. Bake just till done and wiggly in the center. This will achieve the most perfect result for creaminess. DO NOT cook till set as the torte will be very dry. Cool on counter top and then refrigerate overnight. I have made this using bittersweet, semisweet, and milk chocolate. My family's consensus was that the combo of semi and milk tasted the best as it was a little less intense of a chocolate flavor. I have also made this torte sugar-free by substituting Splenda for the sugar. The flavor combinations are endless....any liquor you want, any extract you might like too!! If you don't have chocolate chips or chocolate squares, this can be made with cocoa powder. The texture will be different. It will be less fudge-like and more cakey but still delicious!! If you love chocolate, this is the dessert for you!!! It is basically a fool-proof dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Very rich but oh so good! I made this for my gluten free daughter and she said she's tried other flourless cakes but this one was by far the best! I would suggest making it in a spring form pan as it was very difficult to unmold out of a regular cake pan! I served it with fresh raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This came out great! I used a non stick cake pan and it came out fine after putting in hot water for about 5 mins. You do have to be a chocolate lover to like this. It is very rich. Has a cheesecake texture without the cheese. I made a strawberry sauce and also topped with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is a definite keeper. My daughter is gluten free and I am always looking for tasty desserts. I took some of the others advice and substituted 3 eggs for egg whites and substituted the grand mariner for the water and it turned out excellent. I baked it in a spring pan with parchment paper on the bottom and it was so easy to remove. Don't over cook, it wont look done in the middle, but once you let it sit, it thickens up. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I have made this about 10 times. The best version is with coconut oil instead of butter. Wow it rocks. A very subtle coconut & rich chocolate flavor EVERYONE will love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Absolutely decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was great! Much creamer than others I have had before. I used I Ghiradelli chocolate and served it with raspberry sauce. It was wonderful. I did not used a spring form pan, and had no trouble getting it out of my cake pan-just run a knife around the edges and set it in a pan of hot water for a few seconds. I do think that next time I will line the pan with silicone paper, as that will be much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made this EXACTLY as the recipe indicated and it came out PERFECT! I used Ghirardelli 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate baking chips. Thank you Maggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I just made this wonderful chocolate cake recipe for a co-worker's birthday. I changed the 3/4 cup sugar to 1/2 cup agave to help cut down the sugar. (he's borderline diabetic) And, I used 57% coco solid chocolate lacquer from the bulk section at WinCo. Everything came out great. It came out dense, but it easily cut with the edge of a fork. Not having a spring cake pan, I used a glass pie pan and sprayed pam in the bottom. To release the cake the next morning, I then put the pie pan over a pot of boiling water for 10 min. This melted the chocolate off the bottom glass and I inverted the cake onto a plate. The edges did have a small sloop from the pie pan form, but no one cared at all. Served with ready whip and raspberry and orange jam. Now my wife is jealous and wants me to make it for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I've become famous for making this cake - it's too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States