Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was absolutely the most decadent thing I've ever made! I followed the recipe only making one change and it came out perfect. I used Splenda half & half for sweetening and the taste was absolutely wonderful. I will use a springform pan next time, as others had suggested. It was a little difficult coming out of the cake pan, but with some minor effort it came out and was just amazing. I dusted the top (after removing from pan) with cocoa powder and served with melted sugar free blackberry jam drizzled on top. My husband and father-in-law scraped their plates clean! Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
AMAZING. Everyone at my dinner party loved it. Not sure if "cake" is a good description. It's very creamy and dense...almost like a brownie flavored truffle. But it was seriously amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made this last night for today (Valentine's Day). This was delish! Thank you Maggie for sharing this desert. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Made this for my GF daughter and son. It is a very rich dessert, very chocolatey. Some suggestions for those who said it had an eggy taste. You must incorporate the eggs well and I temper the eggs so that they don't scramble. What I do is to add a little of the warm sugar water to the eggs so they don't scramble. Then I fold in already beaten egg whites whipped to soft peak stage. Bake in a spring form pan greased well and line the bottom with greased parchment paper. Cover the outside bottom and up the sides of the pan with foil. You do not have to rest the pan in water. You can add a pan of boiling water on the bottom of the oven. Bake just till done and wiggly in the center. This will achieve the most perfect result for creaminess. DO NOT cook till set as the torte will be very dry. Cool on counter top and then refrigerate overnight. I have made this using bittersweet, semisweet, and milk chocolate. My family's consensus was that the combo of semi and milk tasted the best as it was a little less intense of a chocolate flavor. I have also made this torte sugar-free by substituting Splenda for the sugar. The flavor combinations are endless....any liquor you want, any extract you might like too!! If you don't have chocolate chips or chocolate squares, this can be made with cocoa powder. The texture will be different. It will be less fudge-like and more cakey but still delicious!! If you love chocolate, this is the dessert for you!!! It is basically a fool-proof dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Very rich but oh so good! I made this for my gluten free daughter and she said she's tried other flourless cakes but this one was by far the best! I would suggest making it in a spring form pan as it was very difficult to unmold out of a regular cake pan! I served it with fresh raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This came out great! I used a non stick cake pan and it came out fine after putting in hot water for about 5 mins. You do have to be a chocolate lover to like this. It is very rich. Has a cheesecake texture without the cheese. I made a strawberry sauce and also topped with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is a definite keeper. My daughter is gluten free and I am always looking for tasty desserts. I took some of the others advice and substituted 3 eggs for egg whites and substituted the grand mariner for the water and it turned out excellent. I baked it in a spring pan with parchment paper on the bottom and it was so easy to remove. Don't over cook, it wont look done in the middle, but once you let it sit, it thickens up. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I have made this about 10 times. The best version is with coconut oil instead of butter. Wow it rocks. A very subtle coconut & rich chocolate flavor EVERYONE will love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Absolutely decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was great! Much creamer than others I have had before. I used I Ghiradelli chocolate and served it with raspberry sauce. It was wonderful. I did not used a spring form pan, and had no trouble getting it out of my cake pan-just run a knife around the edges and set it in a pan of hot water for a few seconds. I do think that next time I will line the pan with silicone paper, as that will be much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States