Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe for chocolate lovers. I made this three different ways over the past holidays and here are my suggestions. I tried Baker’s, Nestle and Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate. My guests preferred the Nestle brand the best. Just as good as Ghirardelli but at half the price. For you mint lovers, for one cake I added ¾ tsp. of mint extract to the mix. Very nice and subtle result. The other reviewer advice I tried and agree with includes: Eliminate 3 egg yolks and use 3 eggs and 3 egg whites; Use parchment paper in bottom of spring form pan. I sprayed the parchment and sides of the pan with PAM; Use a lot of heavy duty foil to seal the pan and keep the water bath out. By the third try, it was totally dry; Use Grand Marnier instead of the water. It’s pricey, but what the heck; Use a long very thin blade knife to cut the cake. Run it under hot water before each cut. This eliminated sticking. I made a raspberry sauce that I served on the plate but also put a small dab of whipped cream on each piece. “Nuked” each piece for 15 seconds before adding the cream and raspberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This was wonderful.. the second time around. This may sound a bit moronic.. but the wording threw us the first time. We used 18 squares of chocolate, instead of 18 ozs. Ended up laughing about it, taking a picture and calling it " Chocolate Passover Quiche 2005". Personally.. I would take out the (1 ounce) and just say " 18 ozs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1002 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Wow! Definitely going in the mainstay - tried and true - file of my recipe book. I'm a personal chef/caterer and last night I catered for a group of very well known classical musicians - beef tenderloin, fresh herb roasted vegetables and new potatoes, field green salad, vermouth roasted shad, prosciutto pesto palmiers, macaroons, and this flourless chocolate cake. I had several marriage proposals, was approached in the kitchen for more of this cake, and was personally brought out and given a toast for the meal (but really the cake). Are you sold? Follow the recipe exactly! I usually change things around - but there is NO NEED TO CHANGE A THING. I used ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate chips (about a bag and 1/2 of 11.5 oz bags). I wrapped my cake pan in foil for the water bath because I used a cheap spring form pan. Amazingly, the cooking times and everything are perfect. DON'T CHANGE. And a big thanks to Maggie. oh yeah - served with whipped cream (heavy whipping cream and a little powdered sugar) and fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
688 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREN30

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Great! I just got back from an office party where I made this for my boss, as she is allergic to wheat. Every single person out of 10 people ate both the cake and the ice cream I served with it! Like others have said, a little goes a long way. Things I didn't bother with: 1) the water bath 2) the wax paper 3) the dunking the bottom in hot water before serving These didn't make any difference at all. It still came out perfect. I simply unsnapped the springform lock and voila, ready to cut. Things I did do: 1) Followed others' suggestions of one bag of chocolate chips and 4 squares unsweet chocolate 2) Used a springform 10.5 inch pan sprayed with Pam. 3) Served it with vanilla ice cream 4) Served it at room temperature It absolutely needed something like the ice cream to go with it. I wished I had fresh whipped cream, it would have been better maybe. But as it is, this recipe comes out like the moistest, richest brownie you've ever had. So between the "brownie" and the ice cream, no one could refuse! I don't think it would be good just by itself, as it needs the vanilla or cream to offset the richness so you're not overloaded with chocolate taste. I don't think the caramel drizzle others have suggested would be good, as it is extremely sweet already. Your call. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This should not be considered just an alternate for those who can't handle gluten! This is a spectacular, elegant, high end finish to the best of the best meals. You can delight SO many as you needn't(shouldn't) slice hearty portions. I used semisweet chocolate chips, and it was VERY GOOD, just cut back a bit on the sugar.A dusting of powdered sugar fresh raspberries and a sweetened sour cream garnish bring it up another level. Could CAUSE a celebration if there isn't one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Rich and delicious. I baked it it in small ramekins that were greased and dusted with cocoa powder. Cooking time was decreased by about 15 minutes. I poured blackberry sauce over the top and ate them straight from the ramekins. My guests couldn't finish theirs so I might make them even smaller next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
People will think you spent hours making this wonderful dessert yet it's so easy. The only change I made was using fresh brewed espresso instead of water. It tasted like pudding when it was warm & like a truffle torte when it was cold. WOW!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
This cake was to die for. Everyone thought it was so rich and incredible! I think next time I will add 1/4 c. more sugar. Thank you so much! This is a keeper and so perfect for any special occasion. The texture is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
The best chocolate cake I ever eaten. Use good chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This cake is excellent. We had a flourless cake on the Royal Caribbean's Enchantment of the Seas cruise. This cake tastes just like their recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States