Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made this for a company dessert tonight and followed the recipe exactly-it was perfect, exactly like one I had recently made by a much more talented cook than I am! Not hard at all, and the flavor was out of this world. I served it with homemade whipped cream with just about two tablespoons of sugar per 2 cups-the cake is plenty rich without it though. My only issue was that it did not come out of the cake pan, I ended up just having to cut it like pie-but I think that was my fault, I did not have the time to let it refrigerate overnight. Next time I will make sure I do that and I bet it will come out great. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I used my KitchenAid stand mixer and found that the batter cooled toward the outside so it got sticky and I had to scrape it down quite a bit. Bigger chunks of butter (more than 1 Tbsp) might have helped, or melting the chocolate (I used 60% Ghirardelli) to a higher temp also might have helped. I used a springform pan with a water bath and a little water leaked into the edge of the cake. I chilled it overnight. When I served it the consistency was very gooey although the flavor was good. There were occasional bits of egg white so I think the mixer wasn't effective. Would consider trying this again with different process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I have made numerous flourless chocolate cake recipes, and this ranks amongst the best. I made a few modifications, but only because of the ingredients I had on hand. I used 12 oz of bittersweet chocolate, 4 oz of semisweet and 2 oz of unsweetened chocolate. I added 5 large eggs (it was what I had!). I used a 9-inch springform pan, didn't use the water bath, and baked the cake for the amount of time indicated. The cake was superb - it cut beautifully, was smooth and as many suggested I served it with a lightly sweetened whipped cream to balance the chocolate. I thought the preparation method was very unique - this is a definite keeper. Thanks for sharing Maggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I did follow the advice from other reviewers and used 3 whole eggs and 3 whites. We skipped the liquor for this one. It was silky smooth, melt in your mouth chocolatey goodness. We all started with thin slices but kept going back for more. I made this with a simple raspberry sauce using thawed raspberries, a touch of sugar and water which I cooked, strained then reduced before adding a little cornstarch. This concentrated raspberry flavor was a perfect compliment to the truffle like cake. Looking forward to trying this with Irish Creme or a good orange or raspberry liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Made this at my husbands request. Read the reviews first and decided to use Trader Joe's semi sweet chocolate chips and the 3 egg/3egg white suggestion. Also, added a packet of Starbucks Via instant coffee to the sugar water mixture. Lightly beat the eggs (used room temperature) and tempered with a quarter of the sugar/water mix before adding to chocolate. The result was amazingly smooth with a hint of mocha! Should point out that I used a darker finish springform pan and needed 5-7 extra minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Totally sinful! I drizzled blended strawberries with sugar and raspberry schnapps over the top. Added some fresh mint and raspberries for an elegant touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
It's great my mom is gf and df (glutenfree and dairy free) and she loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Made it exactly as written. People raved about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was incredibly chocolatey and fudgy! Only change I made to the recipe was baking it in a 9 inch pan for about 50 minutes, in the water bath. It did fall apart when I cut it, but it wasn't dry. The end result is not really like cake, but I can imagine it being awesome in layers with a traditional chocolate cake, or with vanilla ice cream. I followed other reviewers suggestions and served with canned whipped cream and mixed berries, which complement it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
My 13-year old daughter made this with minimal help from me to take to a dinner with gluten-free guests. On the plus side, it was easy to make. We used a springboard pan but no water bath. The cake is definitely ultra rich like eating a truffle. We made a strawberry sauce to go on the side. While this was an okay dessert, I'd rather have a brownie or other chocolate treat. Too rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States