Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This cake came out great! It's more like a cheescake. I used 8 oz of semi-sweet chocolate and 10 oz. of bittersweet chocolate. I followed the recipe directions and it came out perfectly .I did use a spring form pan instead of a cake pan. I definitely would recommend the spring form because it was much easier to get the cake out of the pan. I sprinkled powdered sugar on top and served with a strawberry sauce on the side. Everyone loved it and yes it is rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Holy heaven in my mouth! This is like a fancy dessert I would expect to find in a very small sliver on a very small plate after a very pricy meal. However, now I can make it at home and impress guests (which is just what I did). Reviews are true, its very rich and you don't need to eat much to be quite content. You most certainly DO need to wait the day in between or overnight for it to set. It ocntinues to be just as good for a couple of days, and as it hardens in the fridge takes the consistency of the middle of a truffle. I will make this any time i need to make something special, or something gluten free. Followed the directions exactly, and it turned out flawlessly! THANK YOU!!!!! HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I followed this recipe to a the T....I don't know what I did, or didn't do...but it was a ooey gooey mess after 45 minutes. Maybe I made the same mistake Lizk did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Recently I cut sugary foods from my 3 1/2 year old's diet (not that she had much to begin with) although the difference has been minimal over the last 2 months. I started doing some research and I have a feeling it's not so much the sugar that is an issue, but the glutton. This recipe sounds so delicious, the whole family would love it, and my hubby won't even know it's glutton free. I can't wait to make this later and test it out. Love baking with my daughter, but feel so guilty that she hasn't been able to reap the rewards of het own projects. Thank you for sharing! Can't wait to try and report back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I didn't want to bother with the overnight set and I don't mind cracked tops so I baked this without a water bath at 375 for ~ 30-45 minutes until a toothpick came out clean. It was perfectly moist and I garnished with strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I had a flourless chocolate cake at our local bistro and was determined to find a recipe. THIS IS IT!!!!! I follow the directions exactly using 60% Ghiradelli chocolate. I have used both a 9" sprinform and 10" regular cake pan. Both work fine and the cake releases easily. It is beautiful and absolutely delicious. The second one didn't age for 24 hours, and it seemed the texture was not quite as smooth, so from now on I won't skip that step. All in all, this is a definite keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Didn't change anything from the original recipe, and it was great! Super dark, as you probably know, so it feeds a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Very good. Very rich. Trying different chocolate next time. I'm more of a milk chocolate fan. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeCakeBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Nothing wrong with it, but just not something that knocked our socks off and I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Ferrill Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
What a gigantic disappointment. I've made flourless chocolate cake before, and always use a springform pan, which is what I used here. The "cake" leaked out into the foil I wrapped around the pan and made a mess. Plus, I left the cake in the oven for almost an hour and it STILL never set up. I have some great-tasting chocolate pudding now, but no cake. Stick with the flourless torte recipe in the cake bible if you want one that won't disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States