Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is one of the best cakes I have ever eaten. Followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bri-bri's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Be sure to use the water bath - I did not and my cake cracked. Still absolutely divine, but the small cracks were disappointing. I wanted to lightly powder with powdered sugar, but ended up adding a strawberry topping instead. YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Delicious and easy! I get wow's aplenty whenever I make this, whether for my gluten-intolerant friends or any chocolate lover! I use 18 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of bittersweet and pull back on the added sugar to 1/2 cup. I did make the mistake of overcooking it once and it was dry and a bit grainy, so do leave some of the shine in the middle, as the directions note. Thanks for an awesome go-to chocolate fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This recipe came out absolutely delicious! I will be keeping it on hand for all future parties and gatherings where I am asked to bring some sort of dish. It is sure to WOW everyone there and make them think you are a professional baker! I actually did not make a glaze to cover the top, but I did have a chocolate/fudge frosting on hand that I thinned out and spread over the top. It worked nicely. In the future I think I will make a raspberry or strawberry chocolate glaze with the actual fruits in it to add on top. My suggestions/recommendations for those who had trouble with this recipe: 1. The cake is supposed to be wet when it comes out of the oven. DO NOT bake it at a higher degree or for longer or it will be dry. 2. Freeze the cake in the freezer overnight. The fridge just did not get the cake hard enough and didn't congeal everything properly. ALSO, when you are done eating it, put it back in the freezer. It starts to melt a little bit like an ice cream cake. This will keep it firm. 3. Line the pan with parchment paper and cooking spray. It becomes fudgy and will be difficult to remove. 4. Chocolate/bakers squares can be expensive. I used kroger/store brand semi-sweet chocolate chips and it was delicious. I measured out 18 ounces in a measuring cup and couldn't tell there was a difference. 5. Make sure you boil water FIRST to put into the water bath pan. Also, make sure that you place the pan with batter into the water bath pan first before adding the water. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is delicious, I have been buying one of these every year for over 10 years, never again. I did have 1 problem, while each bite was melting in my mouth i felt like little clumps were there but all I could see were a lot of small air bubbles. Any ideas why this happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I made this to sell at a cafe and it turned out perfect! Followed recipe exactly. It's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Venesa O.
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I baked this for my coworkers and it was a HUGE HIT!! It was all gone!! I added strawberries as a garnish and my gluten free coworker was in heaven! It was described as "tastefully sinful!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I'm making this recipe now. The only thing I would change is adding a chocolate glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This cake is without a doubt the best experience I have ever had with chocolate cake! This will be made at the holidays for that extra special desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made this for a company dessert tonight and followed the recipe exactly-it was perfect, exactly like one I had recently made by a much more talented cook than I am! Not hard at all, and the flavor was out of this world. I served it with homemade whipped cream with just about two tablespoons of sugar per 2 cups-the cake is plenty rich without it though. My only issue was that it did not come out of the cake pan, I ended up just having to cut it like pie-but I think that was my fault, I did not have the time to let it refrigerate overnight. Next time I will make sure I do that and I bet it will come out great. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States