Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is wonderful! I made it for my son's birthday, since he has a wheat allergy. He(and everyone else) begged me to make another as soon as that one ran out. I used different types of dark chocolate each time and it always turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This flourless chocolate cake is by far the best most decadent cake ever! I made this cake for my boyfriend for his birthday. He LOVED it. Now I used a 70% chocolate, I must say my boyfriend recently lost 100lbs so I didn't want to sabotage he goals. I used a sugar substitute as well as smart balance butter it was amazing you couldn't tell that these substitutions were made as we've had this cake in elegant restaurants. I also served it with a chocolate sauce I made from this site & whip cream. Next time I will try the espresso tip. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineNuBiEnNe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This cake is so easy to make and it's very smooth and decadent. If you have a sweet tooth and love chocolate, this dessert is for you. Make sure that the center looks uncooked because the last time I made it I overcooked the middle and it just didn't taste as good. A home made raspberry sauce goes great with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
**AWESOME** This is the cake I had in a coffeeshop in Erie, PA 15 years ago and have been trying to replicate ever since. It is so dense and rich -absolutely perfect with a cup of chai tea. I made as directed with the following exceptions: used 8 oz Bakers chocolate, 7 oz toll house chips, and followed the directions on Hershey's baking cocoa to make up the difference. I opted out of the hot water bath. The oven was on all day at 500 degrees baking pizzas, I turned it down to 300 after the last pizza, waited 2 hours and baked this exactly 45 mins. It came out perfect -the center wasn't gooey or anything (although it appeared so, the toothpick test came out clean). I tried it when cooled to room temp and it was great with a glass of milk as well. I made it in an 8 inch round cake pan and it was fine. It rose up about 2 inches above the pan and then sunk back. 9 or 10 inch would be better if you have them, as it's a rich cake, but 8 inch worked out good and you can slice thin pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Oh my. This is quite possibly the most decadent dessert I've made. Ever! This is the chocolate lover's dream. I couldn't find bittersweet chocolate (at least any that was affordable), so I used 16 oz. semi-sweet chocolate and 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate. This was just a treat for my husband and I, but when I make this for guests, I will probably spring for the good chocolate. I baked it in a 9" pan and increased the baking time 10 minutes to compensate. I lined the bottom of the cake pan with parchment paper, then sprayed all with cooking spray, and the cake popped right out after a dip in hot water. I served it with "Raspberry Sauce" from this site, fresh raspberries and a dollop of whipped cream. This is the perfect recipe to serve guests, whether they are gluten-intolerant or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Delicious, but I would let it set longer, probably a full 24hrs...mine was a bit runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was a little on the dark side for chocolate in my opinion. It definitely needs a sauce to cut the intensity of chocolate flavor, but is a good recipe. Next time I try this it will be with half semisweet and half bittersweet. Also, be prepared to spend more money than the average cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I have never had anything so decadent. This is by far the best flourless cake I have ever had. It is easy to make, and a fave of all chocolate lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Guests raved about this cake! Not only delicious, but probably the most professional looking cake I've ever made. I used salted butter as that's all I had on hand so I omitted the salt. Also, best if heated in the microwave for 40 seconds before serving! Can do many sauces or toppings with this...whipped cream , caramel, raspberry sauce, vanilla ice cream or peanut butter all come to mind
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefChan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
EXCELLENT!! However I did make some changes (accidently) I used SEMI-SWEET chocolate chips instead of bittersweet, and I used 1/2 unsalted and 1/2 salted butter. It still was a great hit at work : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYDEEBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States