Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is wonderful! I made it for my son's birthday, since he has a wheat allergy. He(and everyone else) begged me to make another as soon as that one ran out. I used different types of dark chocolate each time and it always turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This flourless chocolate cake is by far the best most decadent cake ever! I made this cake for my boyfriend for his birthday. He LOVED it. Now I used a 70% chocolate, I must say my boyfriend recently lost 100lbs so I didn't want to sabotage he goals. I used a sugar substitute as well as smart balance butter it was amazing you couldn't tell that these substitutions were made as we've had this cake in elegant restaurants. I also served it with a chocolate sauce I made from this site & whip cream. Next time I will try the espresso tip. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineNuBiEnNe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This cake is so easy to make and it's very smooth and decadent. If you have a sweet tooth and love chocolate, this dessert is for you. Make sure that the center looks uncooked because the last time I made it I overcooked the middle and it just didn't taste as good. A home made raspberry sauce goes great with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
**AWESOME** This is the cake I had in a coffeeshop in Erie, PA 15 years ago and have been trying to replicate ever since. It is so dense and rich -absolutely perfect with a cup of chai tea. I made as directed with the following exceptions: used 8 oz Bakers chocolate, 7 oz toll house chips, and followed the directions on Hershey's baking cocoa to make up the difference. I opted out of the hot water bath. The oven was on all day at 500 degrees baking pizzas, I turned it down to 300 after the last pizza, waited 2 hours and baked this exactly 45 mins. It came out perfect -the center wasn't gooey or anything (although it appeared so, the toothpick test came out clean). I tried it when cooled to room temp and it was great with a glass of milk as well. I made it in an 8 inch round cake pan and it was fine. It rose up about 2 inches above the pan and then sunk back. 9 or 10 inch would be better if you have them, as it's a rich cake, but 8 inch worked out good and you can slice thin pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Oh my. This is quite possibly the most decadent dessert I've made. Ever! This is the chocolate lover's dream. I couldn't find bittersweet chocolate (at least any that was affordable), so I used 16 oz. semi-sweet chocolate and 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate. This was just a treat for my husband and I, but when I make this for guests, I will probably spring for the good chocolate. I baked it in a 9" pan and increased the baking time 10 minutes to compensate. I lined the bottom of the cake pan with parchment paper, then sprayed all with cooking spray, and the cake popped right out after a dip in hot water. I served it with "Raspberry Sauce" from this site, fresh raspberries and a dollop of whipped cream. This is the perfect recipe to serve guests, whether they are gluten-intolerant or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Delicious, but I would let it set longer, probably a full 24hrs...mine was a bit runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was a little on the dark side for chocolate in my opinion. It definitely needs a sauce to cut the intensity of chocolate flavor, but is a good recipe. Next time I try this it will be with half semisweet and half bittersweet. Also, be prepared to spend more money than the average cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I have never had anything so decadent. This is by far the best flourless cake I have ever had. It is easy to make, and a fave of all chocolate lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Guests raved about this cake! Not only delicious, but probably the most professional looking cake I've ever made. I used salted butter as that's all I had on hand so I omitted the salt. Also, best if heated in the microwave for 40 seconds before serving! Can do many sauces or toppings with this...whipped cream , caramel, raspberry sauce, vanilla ice cream or peanut butter all come to mind
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefChan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
EXCELLENT!! However I did make some changes (accidently) I used SEMI-SWEET chocolate chips instead of bittersweet, and I used 1/2 unsalted and 1/2 salted butter. It still was a great hit at work : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYDEEBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States