Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is so absolutely delicious and decadent. I made the recipe exactly as stated, except I used a 10-inch springform pan wrapped in foil. It tastes so rich. I made sure my butter was at room temperature and I sat my eggs out to get close to room temperature as I made the cake. Really, really worth the price of the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great recipe for everyone (even gluten-intolerant folks) to enjoy. It's rich, so it's best served along with a cup of coffee or hot tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
WOW!!! This was amazing. Because I'm on a health kick, I made it sugar free. I used 18 ounces Sugar Free semi-sweet chocolate chips & splenda. It's amazingly good, yet still incredibly rich, so literally a bite or two does it- a small piece goes a long way!! UPDATE: I've been sharing with friends, family & co-workers, many of which eat plenty of sugar and flour, all loved it and have begged for me to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This cake was really, really good! It is very chocolaty and SUPER rich, so don't cut yourself a big slice, you will never be able to finish it. The texture is along the lines of a chocolate truffle. I served it to my husband and a couple of our friends and they all said it was excellent. I was even asked for the recipe. I only made one minor change to the recipe itself, which was using 18 oz. of semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the bittersweet chocolate. I baked it in a spring form pan and didn't bother with the water bath. I also added the butter in all at once instead of one piece at a time. Make sure your butter is at room temperature before adding it to the melted chocolate. If it is cold the chocolate will seize. It is crucial to bake the cake a day before you plan to eat it. When it comes out of the oven the center is very jiggly and it needs plenty of time to set up in the fridge before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I love this cake so much, I baked it for my own wedding. I have also baked it for several family birthdays and most recently for a raffle (it brought in over $100!!!). I use Trader Joe's 72% dark chocolate. Every bite tastes like a truffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This cake came out great! It's more like a cheescake. I used 8 oz of semi-sweet chocolate and 10 oz. of bittersweet chocolate. I followed the recipe directions and it came out perfectly .I did use a spring form pan instead of a cake pan. I definitely would recommend the spring form because it was much easier to get the cake out of the pan. I sprinkled powdered sugar on top and served with a strawberry sauce on the side. Everyone loved it and yes it is rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Holy heaven in my mouth! This is like a fancy dessert I would expect to find in a very small sliver on a very small plate after a very pricy meal. However, now I can make it at home and impress guests (which is just what I did). Reviews are true, its very rich and you don't need to eat much to be quite content. You most certainly DO need to wait the day in between or overnight for it to set. It ocntinues to be just as good for a couple of days, and as it hardens in the fridge takes the consistency of the middle of a truffle. I will make this any time i need to make something special, or something gluten free. Followed the directions exactly, and it turned out flawlessly! THANK YOU!!!!! HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I followed this recipe to a the T....I don't know what I did, or didn't do...but it was a ooey gooey mess after 45 minutes. Maybe I made the same mistake Lizk did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Recently I cut sugary foods from my 3 1/2 year old's diet (not that she had much to begin with) although the difference has been minimal over the last 2 months. I started doing some research and I have a feeling it's not so much the sugar that is an issue, but the glutton. This recipe sounds so delicious, the whole family would love it, and my hubby won't even know it's glutton free. I can't wait to make this later and test it out. Love baking with my daughter, but feel so guilty that she hasn't been able to reap the rewards of het own projects. Thank you for sharing! Can't wait to try and report back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I didn't want to bother with the overnight set and I don't mind cracked tops so I baked this without a water bath at 375 for ~ 30-45 minutes until a toothpick came out clean. It was perfectly moist and I garnished with strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States