Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was very good - everyone at my church and work loved it! I used xylitol instead of sugar and did not use water bath as I didn't have anything big enough. Also used 10" springform pan which made it easy to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I baked this cake for my daughter's birthday, so that her gluten sensitive husband could enjoy the birthday cake. It was amazing. It is exactly like the expensive Chocolate desserts I've often had in upscale restaurants. I followed the directions exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Served with vanilla ice cream, it was a decadent, melt in your mouth splurge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I love this cake. I followed another reviewer's advice and used three eggs and three egg whites, and I also added in a bit of mint. It turned out to be absolutely delicious. I had a bit of trouble getting it out of the pan after it had set overnight, and once I did get it out, the bottom had melted a little bit. Fortunately I had taken it out of the pan with enough time before I needed to serve it, so I just smoothed out the top and put it back in the fridge. It stiffened right up again, so no serious issues there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This cake tasted just like it came from an expensive restaurant. I used Ghiradelli chocolate and made it exactly as the recipe said. I did use a springform pan and wrapped the bottom in two layers of foil to keep water out. The only problem with the springform pan is that water leaks onto the cake when trying to loosen it in order to invert onto a serving plate. Then I unfortunately cracked the cake getting it off the pan. Next time I will use parchment paper to line the bottom of the springform pan to make removal easier. I decorated the cake with a stencil of a heart outlined with sifted cocoa. Served it with raspberry sauce and whipped cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Did anyone try this with splenda? I'm looking for a chocolate gluten free and sugar free cake. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made this cake two ways based on other reviews. The original recipe is very dense almost like fudge. The altered recipe with folding in egg whites gave it more air and a more cakelike texture which I preferred. It can also be made with various types of chocolate depending on what you have. I didn't have all bittersweet so I mixed semi and milk chocolate to arrive at the 18 oz. I altered the sugar for the sweeter chocolate. Overall a very nice cake. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is very good. I made with raspberry sauce and it made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
My personal opinion is it tastes better the next day. The only thing I might have changed is I might have accidentally added more chocolate than it calls for. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. People have been asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was wonderful and rich! It is best served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Sooo yummy! Eighteen oz is a lot of chocolate and this makes a very big cake. If you compare the ingredients to other flourless chocolate cake recipes on this site, it calls for much more chocolate than of the any others. But it's so good. I serve it slightly heated in the microwave with vanilla ice cream. Nice dessert to serve guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States