Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Excellent! Followed the recipe exactly. Next time I will add coffee instead of water to try it. Creamy, just like a truffle. It is very rich so the serving size can be small. Served with whipped cream and strawberries. I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I made this cake specifically for my gluten free brother inlaw, but everyone else said they thought it was better than chocolate cake. Its very rich so only small slices are needed. I made it exactly as stated, it looked very wet when I took it out of the oven, but it firms up. We served it with whipped cream and rasberries. Next time I would add a liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
quite easy to make and incredibly delicious. I've made 4 or 5 times now for special birthdays or parties and everyone raves. Very dense and rich. Some people say it's like fudge...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
The cake end up as bitter as the chocolate and as dry. It crumble when cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Amazing! Definately use a springform pan, I had a 9 inch pan, and did the water bath as per other reviewers suggestions. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was PERFECT! It came out like cheesecake, did not stick to my pan, and was absolutely delicious - very rich. Thank you for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I thought this was delicious! Made it for my bf's b-day, so I (gluten-free) could enjoy a b-day cake with him. He also loved it thankfully! Not being an experienced cook, I was a little intimidated by the cooking in a water bath, but it was easy. The bf got it out of the pan no problem after the pan sat in warm water right out of the fridge. I used 1 bag of semi-sweet and 1/2 bag milk chocolate and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. Next time (oh there will be a next time!) I will try the suggestions of less egg yolk and whipping the egg whites. Served with vanilla ice cream and red raspberries. So good! Thanks for a fantastic gluten free chocolate cake option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I made Strawberry Sauce by Chef John (also on this site) and whipped cream to go with this. Delicious! I made the cake exactly as directed, but for some reason it took way longer to bake and never did solidify completely in the middle. Even so, it was still wonderful! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Was happy to find this pretty simple recipe for my glueten free friend. It was simple and turned out delicious tho ugly. I LOVE the suggestion of small glass of port with it! YUM! I skipped the water bath, baked for 45 minutes and put it in the fridge immediately. It was NOT coming out of the pan no matter what I did, so I just sliced it and "scooped" it out onto plates. Everyone loved it! Made it for a casual family gathering so it didn't really matter what it looked like. If it were a more formal occasion I would have gone the whole nine yards; water bath, parchment paper, spring form, yada yada. But it was a bit last minute and who cares? Chilled for about 4 hours, had a smooth consistancy. Next time I will go the extra mile. Will also probably omit and egg or two. Baked in a 9" nonstick cake pan.Oh ya, I used one bag semi sweet chips and 3/4 bag milk, perfect! Also only had one stick butter, used cirsco to make up the difference. This is a very forgiving recipe! UPDATE; second time around, same pan, did the water bath, used 3 eggs and 3 whites, one bag dark chocolate chunks and half bag semi-sweet chips, chilled immediately. Much prettier this time, a little bit smoother consistancy, but still not comin out of that pan! Well, it is, just not onto a serving platter, only onto my plate and into my mouth! Maybe a little better than the first try, either way still outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonhb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This was good, but not amazing. After a few bites, I realized that it was really just another version of Southern chocolate pie. Maybe this is silly, but I don't see the point of calling a pie a "cake." Would be excellent with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. I also think that next time I make this I will line the bottom of the pan with a chocolatey crumble crust (I'm not gluten intolerant).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States