Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
This is an excellent recipe. I have made the cake twice with different results. The first time, I used a springform pan and it sank in the middle. The cooking time was too long, as the springform allowed more heat to circulate and baked the cake too quickly. The second time, I used a 9.63" Nordic Ware non-stick pan and it turned out perfectly. I substituted coffee for the water and used 12 ounces of 70% cacao bittersweet Ghirardelli chocolate and 6 ounces of 60% bittersweet Ghirardelli. It was perfect! The consistency of this cake should be creamy and dense like a truffle. If it's dry and cake-like, it's been cooked too long. It's simpler to release the cake from the pan if you use a piece of round parchment paper. Before you serve it, let it sit at room temperature for a while because it brings out the flavor of the chocolate (much like fine cheese). It needs something acidic such as raspberry coulis served with it to counteract the sweetness or unsweetened heavy or whipped cream. A very elegant and sophisticated dessert. I want to try using 70% bittersweet Lindt chocolate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This is amazing have made it twice brought it to a party everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! Must eat with vanilla ice cream or coffee as it's very rich. I didn't have the chocolate the recipe called for, so just used a large bag of dark chocolate chips. This was a Mother's Day hit for a Mom who loves chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This is a delicious cake. I added a bit of vanilla with brandy. We can't wait to get home an eat it. Also I made a homemade pomegranate syrup to drizzle over the top. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Delicious!! Fudge-like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Separated and had a weird texture. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Great recipe! I used the suggestion to use 3 eggs and 3 egg whites instead of 6 eggs. Used a spring form pain with parchment paper instead of a standard cake pan. Wrap alumium foil around pan to keep water out. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This recipe is great. The end result will be more like a chocolate truffle taste/texture than a typical chocolate cake. It is very rich... however, it is great for chocolate lovers. I followed other reviews and used strong brewed coffee instead of water. I also used three egg and three egg whites. I baked mine in a muffin tray for little individual cakes. I've eaten one already to sample but I plan on serving them with a home made strawberry coulis and a dollop of unsweetened whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMel
Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Made it exactly as written. Rich and delicious. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States