Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
HEAVENLY. Seriously. Highly recommend and this is now my go to flourless cake recipe. I served it in one layer, smothered it in raspberry compote and then covered that with chocolate ganache. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Fantastic. I made it exactly according to the recepie.Next time i will look for a smaller recipe that uses 12 ounces of chocolate. It was hard for me to find a pan that would accommodate a 10 inch pan for the water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Silky, rich and decadent. It was a smash hit at work. I decided to make it because we have several gluten-intolerant co-workers, but I'll definitely make it again and again regardless. I used 12 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips and 6 ounces of bittersweet. The flavor was really good. I'm thinking that a dash of vanilla would round it out really nicely, though. I'll have to experiment. Definitely cut the pieces small - it's very, very rich. I decorated by just melting some white chocolate and drizzling it all over the cake. I'll make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This cake is SO EASY! I've made three of them in the span of one week. I brought one to Passover and two to my husband's pHd defense. The professors LOVED it (including one with celiacs) and everyone wanted the recipe. Don't change a thing. I do have to mention that when I can't find bittersweet chocolate, I use semi-sweet and cut down the sugar a bit. I did the first one with semi-sweet without altering the sugar and it was still great, but some of the adults were a little overwhelmed by the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I am SO happy I found this! I've been searching for a non-complicated and truly flourLESS chocolate cake for a long time. WHOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Dense, dark chocolate was soft and moist. An edit: Instead of water for the syrup, I used strong coffee with a tsp of vanilla extract. It didn't impart a coffee flavor to the cake, just enhanced the chocolatey taste. Because the cake is SO dark and rich, it really needs something creamy to serve with it, and some acid to cut the richness. I decided to top my cake with whipped cream and balsamic-macerated strawberries. (Toss cut, fresh strawberries with 1/3 cup of sugar and a healthy splash of balsamic vinegar. Allow to macerate for an hour. Pour 4oz of heavy cream in a stand mixer and whip until soft peaks form. Add macerated strawberries & their juices. Finish whipping cream until stiff peaks form. You can either spread the whipped topping over the cake itself & decorate with thin slivers of strawberry, or simply serve it on the side. Tasty either way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written. I tried this because it looked good in the picture and because of all the great reviews. The chocolate was expensive but i thought it would be worth it. It turned out bitter and just didnt taste right. It did indeed look exactly like picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Just made this recipe for the third time, and, as always, we LOVED it! This time though I used coconut oil in place of the butter due to my daughter's casein sensitivities. Was a little worried I'd ruin it but it was even better than I imagined! Not sure it it was the coconut or the type of chocolate I used but it was creamier/smoother than the other times I've made it. So amazing! There was a slight coconut taste but I used virgin coconut oil instead of refined. Using refined should eliminate that. It actually was a wonderful flavor combo anyway. Needless to say, my daughter devoured it and was very thankful for the tweak so she could enjoy it with us. I highly recommend this recipe for those who have allergies or know someone who does. It's an easy way to make someone feel special with this amazing recipe! Thanks for sharing it with us Maggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn T.
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was very good - everyone at my church and work loved it! I used xylitol instead of sugar and did not use water bath as I didn't have anything big enough. Also used 10" springform pan which made it easy to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I baked this cake for my daughter's birthday, so that her gluten sensitive husband could enjoy the birthday cake. It was amazing. It is exactly like the expensive Chocolate desserts I've often had in upscale restaurants. I followed the directions exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Served with vanilla ice cream, it was a decadent, melt in your mouth splurge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States