Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made this cake two ways based on other reviews. The original recipe is very dense almost like fudge. The altered recipe with folding in egg whites gave it more air and a more cakelike texture which I preferred. It can also be made with various types of chocolate depending on what you have. I didn't have all bittersweet so I mixed semi and milk chocolate to arrive at the 18 oz. I altered the sugar for the sweeter chocolate. Overall a very nice cake. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is very good. I made with raspberry sauce and it made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
My personal opinion is it tastes better the next day. The only thing I might have changed is I might have accidentally added more chocolate than it calls for. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. People have been asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was wonderful and rich! It is best served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Sooo yummy! Eighteen oz is a lot of chocolate and this makes a very big cake. If you compare the ingredients to other flourless chocolate cake recipes on this site, it calls for much more chocolate than of the any others. But it's so good. I serve it slightly heated in the microwave with vanilla ice cream. Nice dessert to serve guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Wow! This cake is absolutely amazing! It is gourmet quality and turned out perfectly every time I made it, following the recipe exactly. It was LOVED by all of our guests, both gluten free and not. It has the consistency of cheesecake, and I served one with a raspberry sauce, one with caramel and toasted almonds, and another with whipped cream. All were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great recipe. I recently made a dairy-free version with margarine instead of butter, and it was (almost) just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I have a friend who has Celiac's disease. Her birthday just came about and I wanted to do something special for her, so I decided to make her a birthday cake. I can't afford to get alternative, gluten free flours, so I decided that I would make a flourless chocolate cake. Upon scour the internet for recipes, I found this one and many like it. While the averages to most of them were high, all the reviews were consistently mixed and complaining of too much chocolate flavor and a problem with dryness. Noting that, I decided to use this recipe but alter it some. I cut the amount of chocolate down to 8oz and used a mixture of both dark chocolate and semisweet chocolate. I also added 1 cup of cherry cola to give the cake some lightness and moisture from the carbonation as well as a complimentary flavor for the chocolate. This was all an experiment so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. In fact, the soupy texture of the batter had me freaking out for a moment. I ended up with two cakes out of the mix and baked them both for about an hour at 325 instead of 300. I haven't tasted the final product yet as I am saving them to enjoy with my friend, but they came out light, springy, and absolutely gorgeous. The batter tasted great so I imagine they do too. So, for being a good base recipe I give this 3 stars. However, as my experimentation points out, this could be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I went to a little Bistro last night and ordered one of these, and it was great, and so today I decided to try to make it. Oh. My. Gosh. It was like a party in my mouth. It was so good I almost cried. I followed the recipe exactly like it was, and holy cow. That's all I can say. Ho-ly Cow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is eyes roll back in your head good. It is rich so a small piece is enough. It tastes very gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States