Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Absolutely fantastic - very rich...cut small slices or it will be too much of a good thing!!! I used 12 ounces Ghirardelli Semi-Sweet chocolate and 4 ounces Ghirardelli Bitter-Sweet Chocolate. I used a greased cake pan - my spring form pan was already being used - worked fine. I love this cake - will definitely make it again - as a bonus it is naturally gluten-free for those with gluten issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is perfect! I followed GUYCHEF's review from Jan. 10, 2005...sub water for Grand Marnier, used a spring form pan with parchment paper on the bottom, 3 eggs and 3 egg whites, heavy duty foil on the bottom to keep the water out, and I served with homemade raspberry sauce. Perfect perfect, it was a BIG hit at the family Christmas party (which is a big deal in a big Italian family)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This is FABULOUS!!! It's less cake than a wonderfully smooth truffle!!! I have made it for three occasions in the last month and it always gets rave reviews and requests for the recipe. I make a frosting just like you do for the main part of the cake (without the eggs), pour it on top and down the sides on the cake plate... decorating it with seasonal sprinkles before it hardens. It is beautiful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
The best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This went over really well with the whole family! This was despite the fact I'd baked it in the wrong pan and couldn't serve it cut into slices, but that wasn't an issue as we simply scooped it out of the pan without altering the taste :) In terms of the actual recipe, I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead, as some here complained about the flavor, and it was wonderful (and a lot less expensive in terms of ingredients). My butter was already salted, so I skipped the added salt. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.McG
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this today for my husband's birthday. Followed every step. The only thing I did differently was I used 16 oz instead of 18 oz of bittersweet chocolate. Butter was still a little hard but it still came out wonderful. My husband loved it and said that it is better than the one we had at the restaurant. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.McG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
oh.. my.. gawd... its so (insert profanity) goooooooddd! i cant believe how PERFECT it turned out!!! I WILL DEFINITELY, VERY DEFINITELY MAKE THIS AGAIN AND AGAIN! DELICIOUS! am i too obvious..? ah! i love this recipe! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
For my first attempt I think it turned out pretty good. I didnt bother with the water bath and used strong coffee to replace the water. I used valhrona chocolate and needed to add a bit more sugar otherwise it would have been too bitter as others have experienced. I always cook by taste though so any recipe to me isnt set in stone. I crunched up an oreo pie shell and poured the batter over that for some texture. Next time I would use parchment paper to help ease it out of the pan. Calling it a cake is misleading though. Its more like a dessert that you would get in a fine coffee shop or cafe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Super easy, was a hit . I brought it to a party and came back with an empty plate. Very rich and creamy, very much like a genache only much more dense. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Outstanding!!!! I made this for a my grandson 's birthday. (He's in college). Everyone loved it and I was even asked to share the recipe. I'm going to serve it for Thanksgiving as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States