Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Awesome gluten free chocolate cake. I made this cake for family that was visiting. Changes: - I used 70% dark chocolate - 1 cup margarine (because it was all i had on hand) - Instead of 6 eggs, I used 4 whole eggs (beat into the batter as the recipe indicates) and then whisked 2 egg whites and folded into the batter. No eggy taste to the cake. - I lined the bottom of the pan with parchment paper and that made it very easy to remove the cake from the pan once baked. (Didn't have to soak the bottom in warm water) - Instead of wrapping the pan and placing it in a water bath. I placed the cake in the oven and on a rack right beneath it, i filled a deep large baking sheet with boiling water. - I also didn't cool over night, I just placed it in the fridge for 4 hours or so and served. Great chocolate cake and like most of the previous reviews said, you can't really eat a lot of it so it will serve many people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I experimented with this recipe for a group where one member needed a gluten-free dessert. Also found it needed to be dairy free and soy free! Well, I tried it and had good reviews. I used 1 Cup of earth balance buttery spread(no soy)for the butter. Everyone loved this cake. I will make it again soon using the regular butter for a birthday cake since you can make it ahead and keep in the 'fridge. Used the strawberry sauce from this site that others suggested. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yulia dinata
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Taste delicious! Thank you for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yulia dinata
Home Town: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Fantastic! I made this exactly as directed and it came out perfect. It is very rich so slice it on the thin side. I served it with fresh raspberry puree and whipped cream. This is best served slightly chilled but not cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Excellent!! Make exactly and added 1T. instant espresso to the sugar/water mixture. So rich and decadent! Easy too!! Try it! You won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly. Too much of an egg taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Stunning! I have adopted this as my go to recipe for my daughter's school's dessert auction. It is so easy to make, can be dressed up with raspberries, a caramel drizzle, chocolate covered espresso beans, or holiday chocolate packages for variety. It is always one of the top bids at the auction, and I get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
DO make these as stated. DON'T eat half the pan like I did! They are amazing -- a little TOO amazing! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Simply June
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Very dense and rich chocolate cake. Use good quality chocolate! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Oh. My. Goodness. This cake is incredible. When you eat this decadent delight, you are not overwhelmed with sugar, frosting, or anything of the like....just beautiful chocolate. This cake does not whisper chocolate, it screams it loud and clear. What a fabulous recipe. The only changes I made were the following: I subbed coffee for water, Earth Balance for butter, Egg Beaters for eggs, and a 10" springform pan for a regular cake pan. My only regret is that I can not award this recipe more than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States