Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I made it sugar free and low carb 4 g per slice I used baking cocoa in place of chocolate bars - I followed directions on cocoa box as substitute for chocolate bars Mine said 1 tbs cocoa 2 tsp oil 3 tsp sugar - = 1 oz baking chocolate . I replaced all sugar in recipe including cocoa conversion with stevia. I used 16 Tbs dark cocoa total each tbs is 2 grams carbs - next time I would use a little less as its very dark! Lol - I can't believe how great this turned out! I'm doing Atkins 40 and this fits in perfectly!! Also I used silicone cake pan sprayed with Pam after overnight refrigeration it popped right out! No hot water etc - I used baking cocoa because it has less carbs than chips - Great low carb treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This recipe made an amazing flourless chocolate cake. I made it just as listed by Maggie. The chocolate flavor was very rich and delicious. The texture was creamy and just perfect. I brought this cake to my quilt group and everyone loved it. Everyone wanted the recipe as well. I did use a springform pan and wrapped foil around it to ensure water did not get into the cake as it baked. This worked perfectly. This is a recipe I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
This is an excellent recipe. I have made the cake twice with different results. The first time, I used a springform pan and it sank in the middle. The cooking time was too long, as the springform allowed more heat to circulate and baked the cake too quickly. The second time, I used a 9.63" Nordic Ware non-stick pan and it turned out perfectly. I substituted coffee for the water and used 12 ounces of 70% cacao bittersweet Ghirardelli chocolate and 6 ounces of 60% bittersweet Ghirardelli. It was perfect! The consistency of this cake should be creamy and dense like a truffle. If it's dry and cake-like, it's been cooked too long. It's simpler to release the cake from the pan if you use a piece of round parchment paper. Before you serve it, let it sit at room temperature for a while because it brings out the flavor of the chocolate (much like fine cheese). It needs something acidic such as raspberry coulis served with it to counteract the sweetness or unsweetened heavy or whipped cream. A very elegant and sophisticated dessert. I want to try using 70% bittersweet Lindt chocolate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This is amazing have made it twice brought it to a party everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! Must eat with vanilla ice cream or coffee as it's very rich. I didn't have the chocolate the recipe called for, so just used a large bag of dark chocolate chips. This was a Mother's Day hit for a Mom who loves chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This is a delicious cake. I added a bit of vanilla with brandy. We can't wait to get home an eat it. Also I made a homemade pomegranate syrup to drizzle over the top. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Delicious!! Fudge-like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Separated and had a weird texture. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Great recipe! I used the suggestion to use 3 eggs and 3 egg whites instead of 6 eggs. Used a spring form pain with parchment paper instead of a standard cake pan. Wrap alumium foil around pan to keep water out. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States