Flourless Chocolate Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This recipe is EXCELLENT! I use Trader Joe's almond meal, instead of whole almonds. I've made them plain, with pecans & with walnuts. My fav is with the walnuts. These are not only delicious, but even better than full gluten brownies! Unfortunately, my family has caught on to that fact, because even though I'm the only GF one in the house, they devour them before they even get a chance to cool completely. I usually have good luck keeping them away from GF recipes because they're "gross". I now have to make double batches if I want a brownie! Thanks a lot Ghiradelli, for making my kids chocoholics too. It's not a quick recipe, but definitely worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
used regular rice flour...recipe came perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granpabutch

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
These are the best gluten free brownies I have ever baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I have made these brownies several times and love them! No one in my family is gluten free, but we still devour these brownies as quickly as I make them. I would definitely recommend changing almond flour to almond butter. It makes a huge difference in the texture. I also subbed the rice flour for gluten free baking flour and found that also helped with texture. I have also tried one cook's suggestion to only use 2 TBSP butter and 1/4 cup canola oil. That was an amazing brownie, especially when I melted chocolate chips all over the top. I have found the bittersweet chocolate chips a little overwhelming, so I use half bittersweet and half semi-sweet. Thanks for sharing this incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
These are EXCEPTIONAL! I've been trying to tweak my favorite recipe for weeks, but can't get it Gluten Free and sugar reduced to satisfy. Tried these and switched out the almond meal for the almond butter as other reviews suggested. Glad I did. These are fudgy yum in decadent chocolate flavor. So easy to make. I used a glass 8 x 8 dish vs. metal and didn't make a difference. Also added the walnuts. So surprised at the results a real go to and keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I used the general bones of the recipe, as I am unfamiliar with baking with brown rice flour but had it from another recipe. Instead of almonds/almond flour I used half a cup all purpose flour and mixed it with the brown rice flour. I also used a cup of Nutella instead of melted chocolate chips because that's what I had on hand. All in all they came out smelling delicious and tasted pretty good, the texture was just a little off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Love this! We use the almond flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Wow, this recipe is PERFECT. My partner has a gazillion allergies and can't eat practically anything, so this recipe is a lifesaver, and it's also absolutely delicious. I made some substitutions: in place of ground almonds I used a third of a cup of grated coconut. In place of butter I used the same amount of canola oil. In place of the chocolate chips I used a 4 oz bar of Ghirardelli bittersweet baking chocolate. The rice flour I used was Bob's Red Mill brand (I don't have a lot of experience yet with rice flour baking, so I'm not sure if it matters). I baked the brownies for about fifty minutes, not twenty-five like the recipe says, and my pan was 9x9 and Pyrex, and greased with canola oil, not lined with paper. The results are chewy at the edges and fudgey in the center, with a really good flavour. I like the coconut and am glad I thought to try it, because the slight grittiness it adds makes the texture much more interesting. Next time I make these I will try using coconut oil in place of the canola I used this time, for a stronger coconut flavour. I will also use parchment paper next time, because they are very stuck to the pan and hard to remove without destroying them. I can't wait to feed these to my partner, and I'm sure I will be returning to this recipe many times. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I didn't try this recipe "as is" for my first go-around. I read the reviews and tweaked based on my specific needs (which was kind of a lot! Haha!) BUT the base was a good starting point! As already mentioned in previous posts, I also substituted the almonds for almond butter. Since I am lactose intolerant, I had to use a substitute for the butter as well. I went with coconut oil. And I also used gluten, dairy, and soy free chocolate chips that I found on the health food aisle of Kroger instead of the brand suggested in this recipe. I had to bake them a little longer: about 35-40 mins instead of 20-25 (probably because of the substitutions...or maybe because I lined the baking dish with aluminum foil instead of parchment paper...whoops), but they were DELICIOUS. I topped the brownies with chopped pecans. The edges were very chewy just like I love and the inside was very soft and gooey. From two sisters who were DESPARATE for a good dessert that wouldn't make us violently ill and from our friends who think eating this stuff is "weird", we would all give this recipe (with the few additions I made) a double thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
These brownies are fabulous! I didn't have any almonds or almond flour so I substituted gluten free all purpose flour. I used organic coconut sugar. Everyone loved them. Next time I might add shredded coconut to the batter. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States