Flourless Chocolate Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
These were amazing! Now I'm not a brownie person but my family is, and on a scale from "1-5" my eight-year old proclaimed that these brownies rated "100" I would say that is definitive for yumminess! Now, I had to use Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Flour (instead of the brown rice flour)-which I used against my better judgement, because I really do not like the bean flavor that is so predominate in the recipes I have tried with it-but-in this recipe you absolutely do not taste the beany-ness! These definitely need extra baking time; I lost track of how long because I kept adding 5 min and testing with a toothpick. They are most definitely more fudgy then cakey but I may have accidentally gone a little light on the almond meal so perhaps they would have baked a little faster with a little more almond flour. See? Gluten free can be delicious-and try these with vanilla ice cream too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Delicious! Made it with 2/3c almond butter instead of the almonds and flour. I used 1/2c of sugar instead of 3/4 and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justamama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Just tried this recipe and it's delicious! Yes, it has a little gritty texture but we didn't mind it. I used Pamela's flour and the Almond Meal/Flour by Red Mill. After reading the reviews before baking, I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup only. We don't like it too sweet. I also scattered walnut pieces on top, looks pretty and nutty. I baked it on a nonstick 8"x12" cookie pan for 25 min at 325 degrees in a convection oven. It came out perfect just the way we like it. Not fudgy. I will try it on an 8"x8" pan next time but baking it longer than 25 min. as some reviewers suggested. Someone said it was falling apart, yes it will because there is no gluten which makes cakes and cookies stick together. This gluten free idea seems to be a fad but I think its a healthy way to live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I subbed coconut oil for butter and used bean flour for rice flour... Same on everything else but topped it with English toffee topping for a crunchy crust.. No one knew it was GF.. And it was so moist. Keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I made this 4 times now. First time was to the letter and measure. OK flavor but the texture was a total miss. Second time, replaced the sugar with brown sugar and that afforded a "chewier" brownie and the flavor was good but too buttery. Third time kept the brown sugar substitute, cut back the butter by 1 Tbsp, and used almond butter. We did not care for the pronounced "nuttiness" from the almond butter and the brownies were dense, but crumbly. This fourth time, we have a winner with texture and flavor! Kept the brown sugar and reduced butter but used sweet rice flour and coconut flour (equal parts combined well) to replace the brown rice and almond altogether and incorporated a 1/4 tsp of baking powder into the flour mix. Also beat the eggs altogether before adding. This resulted in a rich brownie that was chewy and not dense. Version 4 was a smash hit and gone in less than 2 hours! I needed ot cook them for 35-45 minutes easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This recipe is EXCELLENT! I use Trader Joe's almond meal, instead of whole almonds. I've made them plain, with pecans & with walnuts. My fav is with the walnuts. These are not only delicious, but even better than full gluten brownies! Unfortunately, my family has caught on to that fact, because even though I'm the only GF one in the house, they devour them before they even get a chance to cool completely. I usually have good luck keeping them away from GF recipes because they're "gross". I now have to make double batches if I want a brownie! Thanks a lot Ghiradelli, for making my kids chocoholics too. It's not a quick recipe, but definitely worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
used regular rice flour...recipe came perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granpabutch

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
These are the best gluten free brownies I have ever baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I have made these brownies several times and love them! No one in my family is gluten free, but we still devour these brownies as quickly as I make them. I would definitely recommend changing almond flour to almond butter. It makes a huge difference in the texture. I also subbed the rice flour for gluten free baking flour and found that also helped with texture. I have also tried one cook's suggestion to only use 2 TBSP butter and 1/4 cup canola oil. That was an amazing brownie, especially when I melted chocolate chips all over the top. I have found the bittersweet chocolate chips a little overwhelming, so I use half bittersweet and half semi-sweet. Thanks for sharing this incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
These are EXCEPTIONAL! I've been trying to tweak my favorite recipe for weeks, but can't get it Gluten Free and sugar reduced to satisfy. Tried these and switched out the almond meal for the almond butter as other reviews suggested. Glad I did. These are fudgy yum in decadent chocolate flavor. So easy to make. I used a glass 8 x 8 dish vs. metal and didn't make a difference. Also added the walnuts. So surprised at the results a real go to and keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States