Flounder Mediterranean Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is an excellent tasty recipe. I have made it twice. Both times I used canned diced tomatoes...one time I used black olives because that's all I had in the pantry...the next time I used green olives with capers. I used a little less olives and capers per the recommendations of other reviewers. I will definitely make it again. We have used it on Flounder, Tilapia...and I have used leftover sauce over a baked potato. A winner each and every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was a big hit. I used canned tomatoes as recommended because fresh are out-of-season, with fresh basil, and a good quality Parmesan-Rigganno. I didn't cook the flounder with the sauce, but ladled it over the fish after baking. The sauce is awesome and needed no adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I also cooked the fish separately. I didn't bake anything, but did both the sauce and fish on the stovetop, then combined on the plate. I didn't have any white wine so left that out, but didn't miss it at all. Also used tilapia instead. Everyone loved it, and it was a great way to kick off my mediterranean diet - super healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Great recipe. Served it over couscous (sp?) instead of rice and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Excellent! I was eager to try this, just because of all the wonderful ingredients, even though I did not have wine, or fresh tomatoes. I used canned tomatoes and the juice from them, instead. We served it over rice rice and it was oh-so-good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karl and belinda
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I am not a great lover of fish, but I do like it at times and try to eat it at least once per week to maintain a balanced diet, so I always am on the lookout for good and easy variations of fish recipes to cook after a hard day at work. This one hit the nail on the head. Now for the variations: not having the kalamata olives (though they are great), I chopped up some black and green olives and added a teaspoon of basil pesto which we happened to have lying around in the refrigerator. Since this meal was being made for only one person (me, because wife was on another diet that week), I scaled back the ingredients proportionately and cooked everything in the same skillet. Near the end of cooking the sauce, I made a space in skillet to cook the flounder. Being very thin, it cooks quickly right in the same skillet in just a few minutes. This recipe tasted great and was a definite improvement over the standard lemon-butter recipe. I can see where this recipe can be used for other varieties of fish besides flounder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karl and belinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This turned out great! An easy way to peel roma tomatoes you are going to cook with is to freeze them. Then, hold them under running warm water and the skin will slide right off with gentle pressure. I love that this dish is so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was delicious! I didn't have white wine on hand, and I don't like capers. It honestly was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Everyone really like this recipe. I thought it was great as I am diabetic and this fits right in with my program. The only change I made was I used sliced black olives as that was what I had and I really think it liked them better as you have the tartness with the capers. I have had several requests for this recipe and that always tells me that it is a keeper! and dish I will serve again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Burke Strickland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forney, Texas, USA
Living In: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Great healthy dish, perfectly flavorful. I left out the olives, but this dish is great even without them! I like to add a little more wine so that there is a nice sauce to drizzle over fish as it is served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flounder Mediterranean

Healthy baked flounder seasoned with the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Stuffed Swordfish

Five-star swordfish steaks stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States