Florida Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cowgirll
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I wound up needing to add a splash of milk to my batter to keep it from being a dough, but the muffins were super moist and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now and it is excellent just as it is. I have two tips, 1. If you cut the sugar or don't let he strawberries sot the full hour, you will get less juice out of the strawberries and 2. The first time I made these muffins, I misunderstood the directions and blended the dry ingredients directly into the creamed mixture. I didn't realize my mistake until it was done but the muffins still tasted great although it was harder to fill the muffin tins because of the texture and I only ended up with 10 muffins instead of twelve. So learning from my mistake I followed th directions exactly the second time and it was definitely worth the extra time and effort that adding the liquid and dry ingredients intermittently takes. The mixture was much easier to pour into the muffin cups. Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is soooo delish!!! Had some strawberries that were a bit over ripe and i came across this recipe.Very glad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
These would be better with more juice, but the recipe never says how much you need, so you guess every time. I ended up with about 1/4 cup juice from 2 cups of strawberries. The muffins were dense and heavy. The taste was good, but the texture leaves much to be desired. If I try this recipe again, I'll go my own way with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Super easy and very delicious!! Great way to use up those day old berries. I baked them for 19 minutes, when I make them again I will bake them for 18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lambertville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was a great way for me to use up a package of strawberries that were almost ready to be thrown away. The only changes I made were to use a half cup brown sugar in place of the white sugar in the batter, substituted cinnamon for nutmeg and I baked at 400 in a nonstick muffin pan. They are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
These were delicious! I used strawberries I had picked and frozen last spring. When they were thawed, there was lots of juice, but I still added the 1/2cup sugar to the berries. I substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg. Next time I make these I would add 1/4 cup sugar and maybe put fancy sugar on the tops. They were done after 16 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Great recipe they were all gone before the day ended! My father said they were PERFECT I was surprised because he usually doesn't say anything like that about muffins. Fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kwkitty
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Incredibly easy to make these moist, tasty muffins. After reading the reviews I found there seems to be a problem with the amount of liquid the strawberry/sugar mixture makes. I used 2 cups (1 pound - lg. plastic container at grocery) of chopped strawberries mixed with 3/4 cups of white sugar. I made sure to completely coat all the strawberries with the sugar, covered and let sit 1 hr. When I drained the liquid I had exactly 1 cup of liquid and I used it all. I was worried this may have been too much liquid but the result was perfection. The muffins rose, were a golden color and delicious! I also added a 1/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon to the mixture. I baked for 16 minutes. Do not over bake! The recipe yielded 15 muffins (probably due to the extra strawberries and liquid and the creaming of the butter/sugar by hand. I always cream by hand so it is very fluffy and full of air but not beat to death! This recipe is definitely a keeper....we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a great muffin. I substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg. Adding the strawberry juice from the strawberries that you let sit was a brillant touch and added that strawberry flavor throughout the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States