Florida Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
The family liked these but I thought they were slightly blah...but I will probably make them again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
These were pretty good, and baked well following the instructions. I would have liked them a little bit sweeter, or with a stronger berry flavor. I will definitely make these again, maybe add an extra 1/4 cup sugar. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
They came out pretty good. A bit dryer than I would like but I made them for family visiting from up north and they thought the muffins were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
DELICIOUS! I made these over the weekend after buying 2 pounds of strawberries on sale and in season. This muffins really had a nice strawberry flavor, were not too sweet but sweet enough. i did use half splenda /half sugar as well as half whole wheat flour mixed with the white. I love the way the juice of the berry makes for most of your liquid (make sure they are very fresh and ripe). I will be making these again, would probably make a nice cake too with a sweet crumble topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELINAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
These came out great. I had a bunch of much too ripe strawberries and using them in this recipe was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livinginholland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
We thought the muffins were pretty good. However, the taste of nutmeg really overpowered the muffin. So, the next time I make these muffins I'll only use half of the called for amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Very good. Accidentally melted butter instead of softening, but it still worked. Used just 1/8 tsp nutmeg. Watch at the end - mine got a little overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Great muffins. I replaced 1 cup of the flour with whole wheat and added 1/4 cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Very tasty! I made them just as directed, but I used about 1 3/4 C chopped strawberries, and they're just coming into season, so they were sooooooooo juicy! I had no problems with a dry batter at all (lots of juice!), and the cupcakes were very moist. I only made 6 for now, and I put the other 6 into muffin liners in the freezer so I can make one whenever I want. Before baking, a did sprinkle some raw/turbinado sugar onto the tops of them so they would get that delicious crispy top. A great way to use up some super ripe strawberries that are on their last leg or an abundance of fresh berries, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I made this recipe a few times and I found the key to getting the strawberry juice is to chop the strawberries very small (about 1/2 inch pieces) and leave them someplace dark and covered for half hour. I also added about 1/3 cup water, 8 oz mini chocolate chips and a large spoon of raspberry preserves, and baked for 13 minutes. The last time I made them it was so good it hurt ... and then I had to have another!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States