Florida Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I only used the half cup of sugar that I tossed with the strawberries, eliminating the extra 1/4 cup. I made no other changes. These turned out really dry, I don't know if anyone else had this problem as well. I did reduce the baking temp, as I always bake my muffins at 350 degrees for about 18-20 minutes so I can vouch that it's not the adjusted baking time that made these dry. I think these would have been perfect had the flour been cut back to maybe a cup and a half. I might play with this recipe and see if I can't get them to come out a little better with the reduced flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I let my strawberries sit overnight so that I had lots of juice to make sure these muffins were extra moist. I served them while doing Craft services on a film shoot and they went over really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic Deviant

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Very tasty and moist. I only added 1/2 tsp of baking powder and the rest I followed to the "T". I had enough to bake 12 muffin cups and it came out nice and brown with strawberries poking out all over the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a17409
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I just did this one last weekend and omg they just were the best muffins ever. Did the exact recipe, to the last gr. ans it was a sucess at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a17409

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
The idea of these muffins sounded really good, but when I made them, I found they lacked a lot of flavor and weren't as fluffy or moist as I hoped they would be. If I'm going to put strawberries in my muffins again, it will be using a different muffin batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bondurant, Iowa, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Very good. I made the following modifications: I used 2 cups part thawed frozen strawberries and then added sugar over the top. No need to let it set. I used oil instead of butter and pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
After reading reviews, I decided to make a few changes. I used 2 C of fresh, very ripe strawberries mixed with 1/2 C of sugar and let it sit for about 1/2 hour. I also used 1/2 all purpose flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour, 2 tsp of vanilla extract and found some raspberry flavoring in my pantry that I thought would kick the muffins up a notch, so I put about 1/2 tsp in the batter. I topped the unbaked muffins with a sprinkle of extra sugar. Yes, the batter was very thick, but they baked perfectly and are very moist. I'm impressed- great way to use extra strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Yummy breakfast treat. Something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
these have a wonderful taste. Thank God for the nutmeg or the muffin would have been a little bland. Not too sweet, but for the different flavors, the amount of sweetness was fine. Not sure I will try again, but this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium

Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States