Florida Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by kwkitty
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Incredibly easy to make these moist, tasty muffins. After reading the reviews I found there seems to be a problem with the amount of liquid the strawberry/sugar mixture makes. I used 2 cups (1 pound - lg. plastic container at grocery) of chopped strawberries mixed with 3/4 cups of white sugar. I made sure to completely coat all the strawberries with the sugar, covered and let sit 1 hr. When I drained the liquid I had exactly 1 cup of liquid and I used it all. I was worried this may have been too much liquid but the result was perfection. The muffins rose, were a golden color and delicious! I also added a 1/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon to the mixture. I baked for 16 minutes. Do not over bake! The recipe yielded 15 muffins (probably due to the extra strawberries and liquid and the creaming of the butter/sugar by hand. I always cream by hand so it is very fluffy and full of air but not beat to death! This recipe is definitely a keeper....we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a great muffin. I substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg. Adding the strawberry juice from the strawberries that you let sit was a brillant touch and added that strawberry flavor throughout the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
The consistency ended up too thick, I had to loosen it with water. As a result, the muffins also ended up being a little less sweet than we would have liked. But beautiful texture and the strawberries are acidic little droplets in the mix. We tried drizzling frozen-strawberry syrup over them - worked well overall. While I couldn't help lamenting the strawberries as I chopped 'em (I am a huge fresh-fruit-freak) it turned out to be lovely, light bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Great recipe. Almost as good as the To Die For Blueberry Muffins! Both great to use for breakfast and snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it was amazing, both fresh out of the oven and after being refrigerated overnight. The whole family enjoyed them. I made another batch in mini-cupcake tins and froze them for another day. This is a perfect way to use up strawberries that have passed their prime when you don't want them to go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
after reading the reviews, i decided to use 2 cups of strawberries too with a bit more sugar. but unlike some of the other reviews, i think i had yielded too much liquid out of my strawberries... after adding in all the liquid, the batter was too watery, and therefore i randomly added in more flour. also, i baked at 200C only, and perhaps that's why it took over 25 mins baking. after all these hassles, the muffins came out fine with a crispy top, but the taste of strawberry is still not too outstanding... may add some strawberry yogurt to up the taste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larlarip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I have made these several times using 2 cups fresh strawberries and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. I preheat the oven at 425, then turn to 375 when putting muffins in. Baked for 18 minutes, turned out perfect. We love them!!! Today, I used this recipe to make strawberry bread, I added about 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts, baked in a small loaf pan at 350 for 30 minutes. Wonderful taste. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
So, so good. I did alternate this recipe by using Jillian's suggestions and got a very tasty muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Moore Randall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These are delicious! I left out nutmeg because I didn't have any, but they are still great! My husband is not a sweets person but he liked these a lot! Good use for leftover strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LL
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I used 2 cups strawberries and tossed with 1/2 cup sugar. Added the strawberries to the Cuisinart and pulsed 2x. Jillian's review stated she used 1/2 cup butter and 3/4 cup sugar which I also did and also added the baking powder and cinnamon. Another suggestion was adding chocolate. I added about 1/2 cup which I also added to the Cuisinart and pulsed to the consistency I wanted.Baked at 425 for 18 mins. Great way to use strawberries and will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States