Florida Key Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
As per other comments on this making enough for two pies, I halved the recipe and it was the perfect amt for one pre-made 9" graham cracker crust. I loved the smooth creamy texture of the pie and it seemed to taste even better a day or two after I made it. It didn't set as thick as I had hoped it would, but I will definitely make it again! My usual recipe calls for eggs and a meringue top which I really like, but this recipe definitely gives it a run for its money!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
My hubby is from florida and keylime pie is his favorite so i tried this recipes HE LOOOVED IT! I have made it quite a bit and evryone loves it. I did make a few minor changes we like it more tart so instead of just the keylimes (which i squeezed fresh mysself!) i added more lime zest and made it a little pulpy and added about 1/2 of reg lime juice. All and all this recipe was great! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
The only reason I give this three stars instead of five is not because of the flavor, but because of the recipe. I always end up with enough filling and topping for two pies. Also, I don't know what all the straining for the topping is about- I've never had any liquid come out of the whipping, whether I put it in a sieve or not. I really like the flavor, but I agree with whomever else said this is more like a key lime cheesecake- the filling is very creamy and cream cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I love Key Lime Pie and I was looking for an easy no bake recipe and this is it!!! Although the filling seems to be enough for two pies. I increased the juice to 1 full cup and used 2 tsp. of zest. For the topping I mixed frozen whipped topping (8 ounces) with 1 brick of cream cheese, 1/4 cup white sugar (was out of powdered sugar), and 1 tsp. lime zest. This also made enough for two pies. So, after pouring the filling into the crust and spreading the topping on, just pop it in the freezer for a couple of hours to firm up. Delicious; make sure you cut small pieces because this is definitely fattening. Oh well still good if not good-for-you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This was really delicous - made as directed. I should have added a little more lime juice as it was more creamy than lime. Made with Graham Cracker Crust I from this site which i think made the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange Rayner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
LOVE IT!! So yummy. I used nellies & Joe's key lime juice. I added alittle creamy cool whip to the mix, which I also topped it with. I thought the mix might need a little thickening. I used a extra large size graham cracker crust, it really fillled it high. The Next time I halfed the recipe, use a normal size shortbread crust and it was just as good and filled it perfect. So easy and yummy. The lime zest really adds to the pie. I didn't have a zester so I peeled some and chopped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Wow!!! Great pie! Of course I used almost a cup of regular lime juice!! I will add more zest next time. Rich and creamy. I might even used a few ounces less of milk....hmmm good thought... I like a very strong lime flavor...also added 1/2 tsp of zest to whip topping! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
excellent but the calories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
On our last vacation to Florida, my husband and I tried Key Lime Pie at almost every restaurant we went to. I made this last night as a special treat. While it wasn't as good as our favorite in Florida, it was still great. I used fat free sweetened condensed milk. I, also, used bottled key lime juice, so I did not have any zest. I did not make the topping. I used whipped topping as others have done. This was so simple to make. Next time, I may try low fat or fat free cream cheese and make my own graham cracker crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
The BEST! My boyfriend LOVED it! It was great frozen too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medic's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States