Florida Key Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
UNBELIEVABLY SPECTACULAR! about 20 years ago I had my first piece of key lime pie at the Breakers hotel in west palm beach FLA. I have looked for years for a recipe that comes close to its excellence and tried more than 100 different recipes with no luck. Until now. This is by far the most magnificent key lime pie on the planet. My tast buds are doing the happy dance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaye Foster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I personally am not one for tart disserts, but I have to say this no-bake Key Lime pie was AMAZING!! I made this for a friend's birthday and both he and my husband said it was better than anything found in a restaurant that they have had. I did not make the topping that is included in this recipe however as it sounded too easy to mess up. Instead I made a Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting submitted by Jo-Lynn. When I made the alt topping to top the Key Lime Pie I also squeezed 2 key limes (about 1 tsp) into the frosting and it was simply amazing! Yes this pie may seem like and taste like a cross between a pie and cheese cake, but that was part of the attraction to try it was the extra creamy texture allure! You will not regret making this if you like Key Lime pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shilah Stover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This key lime pie was fantastic! Would not change a thing on the recipe, will enjoy again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I must be missing something because this didn't taste like key lime at all! First, I could barely taste the lime at all. Second, the filling is enough for 2 pies not just 1. Either I missed something or my taste buds just wanted a tangier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Love it!!! I add some extra lime juice - I love it extra tart. Tastes even better after chilling for a couple of days! I also use the Keebler mini graham cracker crusts to make it quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krissyp
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very similar to the key lime pie I had at Hooters Key West (my favorite pie). I originally added an entire packet of gelatin but did not like texture. The second time I added about a quarter packet of gelatin and the result was perfect. I also added a margarita glaze to the plate when serving, ofcourse piled high with whipped cream and a fresh lime. Excellent super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was a fabulous pie. I cut the filling in half since I only had 1 pkg of Neufchatel cheese. I didn't grate the lime zest (too dangerous for the knuckles) and didn't let the whipped cream sit and drain off any resulting liquid. I used heavy whipping cream and topped the pie directly. In my hurry, I forgot to let the crust cool thoroughly and it was still very very warm when I put the filling in (which I didn't discover until I went to put this in the fridge) but I went ahead and popped it in to the refrigerator (after all the damage was already done) and it turned out fine. My family loved this pie. This had the right balance between tart and sweet. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very good. I made my own graham cracker crust and didn't bother with the topping. Perfect tartness though it is a bit rich. Small servings are best with this dessert. Next time, if I have the ingredients, I'll make the topping to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I've traveled to the Keys many times just to have Key lime pie. Had a recipe many years ago from a dear friend of mine that lived in Key West. This recipe was the bomb, It was better than I have ever had.Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
It was good, but I was looking for more of a New York cheesecake texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States