Florentine Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Morris - This is a great recipe !!! I had to do substitutions based on what I had/didn't have. -used dried basil instead of freah -added a small sprig of chopped parsley -had to use home canned tomato juice -used 1/2 the spinach -did add pasta - too much the first time -instead of plain water used the water the pasta was cooked in. You are definitely a genius. Your spices were the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Loved it! This soup makes for a great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SISSANNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I made this pretty much to the recipe, although I added more pepper, some sweet chili powder, cooked pasta shells and used fresh spinach. The taste was lovely and with the pasta it made more of a meal than just a broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Like other reviews, we used fresh spinach (approx. 2c). We used Italian style diced tomatoes plus an 8oz. can of no-salt tomato sauce. Since we ate this as our main course, we also added 1/4c small pasta (w/ the tomato mixture) & about ½ c freshly grated Parmesan cheese when the soup is complete. Easy, good & on the table in 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I was looking for a recipe for a soup I saw at Starbucks. I followed the advice of the reviewers who said to add half the spinach, I buy bagged frozen chopped spinach and add to my taste. Then I added a can of tomato soup + one can water and a half a cup of orzo pasta. It was easy and delicious. My husband and daughter loved this soup and the leftovers disappeared quickly the next day. We'll be having this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
A quick, easy soup that was also very good. I used fresh chopped spinach and more seasonings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This shoup was good, a little watery for me, and I agree, cut back on the spinach a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This was pretty good; I think better the next day. It was quite thick. I used fresh spinach. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Original recipe a bit bland. Added 1 cup of red wine, 1 tbs Worchester & 1 tsp mixed salts. Simmered for 20 min or so, Bingo! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This is a wonderful soup! Half the package of spinach is the right amount for me. It tastes great with about half a pound of cooked pasta shells too. Very tasty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States