Florentine Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Very simple, earthy soup. I added a little diced chiles and a pinch of red pepper. I used low sodium chicken broth and white wine. I think the pasta makes this hearty as well. Good, simple soup and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very hearty and tasty. A little bit on the stew side of the soup genre. This recipe is forgiving, so feel free to use frozen vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was pretty good. I doubled the garlic and added a little more water because it didn't seem like there was enough liquid. Next time I will double the amount of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Delicious soup! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out to have a great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I followed all directions and what a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
It needed more substance, so I added mushrooms. But it still tasted like tomato water to me so after adding Greek seasoning and vegetable broth, I boiled pasta and put that in too. Served it with crackers and that was the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Best soup I have ever tasted! I substituted chicken broth for the water / boullion. Note: I also doubled the recipe and it was barely enough for 5 servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great example to illustrate how using the very best ingredients will yield the very best results - fresh tomato sauce if available, (in my case I used tomato sauce I had put up from my garden), chicken broth rather than chicken bouillon and water, and fresh baby spinach (considerably less than the 10 ozs. called for). I also added the fresh basil last, NOT cooking it in the simmering stage for 10 minutes. As written this is a 3-star recipe, but with these simple changes it is a 5-star soup, one that Hubs compares to a memorable soup we enjoyed at "Purple Cafe and Wine Bar," in downtown Seattle. (Rating this 3 stars might have discouraged others from trying this easily improved soup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This soup was very easy to make and I loved it. As a die hard Weight Watcher this counts as a zero point meal. I did add a few chopped baby carrots. Thanks for the recipe. It's in my keeper file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this soup and thought it was great! I also cut down on the spinach and used the chicken broth instead of the water. My husband loves it so much we can't keep it in the house. I have tried doubling the recipe and now I am going to try quadrupling the recipe so I can have some the next day. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States