Florentine Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Very simple, earthy soup. I added a little diced chiles and a pinch of red pepper. I used low sodium chicken broth and white wine. I think the pasta makes this hearty as well. Good, simple soup and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very hearty and tasty. A little bit on the stew side of the soup genre. This recipe is forgiving, so feel free to use frozen vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was pretty good. I doubled the garlic and added a little more water because it didn't seem like there was enough liquid. Next time I will double the amount of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Delicious soup! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out to have a great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I followed all directions and what a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
It needed more substance, so I added mushrooms. But it still tasted like tomato water to me so after adding Greek seasoning and vegetable broth, I boiled pasta and put that in too. Served it with crackers and that was the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Best soup I have ever tasted! I substituted chicken broth for the water / boullion. Note: I also doubled the recipe and it was barely enough for 5 servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great example to illustrate how using the very best ingredients will yield the very best results - fresh tomato sauce if available, (in my case I used tomato sauce I had put up from my garden), chicken broth rather than chicken bouillon and water, and fresh baby spinach (considerably less than the 10 ozs. called for). I also added the fresh basil last, NOT cooking it in the simmering stage for 10 minutes. As written this is a 3-star recipe, but with these simple changes it is a 5-star soup, one that Hubs compares to a memorable soup we enjoyed at "Purple Cafe and Wine Bar," in downtown Seattle. (Rating this 3 stars might have discouraged others from trying this easily improved soup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This soup was very easy to make and I loved it. As a die hard Weight Watcher this counts as a zero point meal. I did add a few chopped baby carrots. Thanks for the recipe. It's in my keeper file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this soup and thought it was great! I also cut down on the spinach and used the chicken broth instead of the water. My husband loves it so much we can't keep it in the house. I have tried doubling the recipe and now I am going to try quadrupling the recipe so I can have some the next day. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States