Florentine Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Hey yo, what's up my fellow recipe experimenters?? To be perfectly honest, this dip tasted better than the ones I've eaten from restaurants.........seriously. You should definitely make some changes to it, but once you find your perfect combination, you'll be extremely satisfied. First alteration I made was halving the cream cheese. Second, I halfed the mayo and added a little sour cream. You will definitely want to do something with the artichokes if you don't purchase marinated ones, or even if you do. I chopped mine up some more after they were drained and seasoned them with two kinds of seasoned salt, onion and garlic powder, a little black pepper, a small dash of italian seasoning and a couple of drops of hot sauce (I'm from Louisiana y'all). I also mixed a little garlic powder with the spinach after it was drained. Didn't use garlic cloves however next time, I will use only a couple and they'll be diced. Make sure you grease your dish with a non-stick cooking spray as well as a little Country Crock and you'll have one of the best spinach dips you've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
358 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This recipe was outstanding! I took the advice of others and used only 1 block cr.cheese, 1 jar marinated artichokes(cut up),1 box spinach, 1/2 cup mayo, 1/3 cup sour cream and shredded parmesan cheese. Save a couple tsps of the artichoke marinade and add to dip, too. I serve it w/blue corn chips. Everyone has loved this dip and wanted the recipe. I even make it the day before my party and refrigerate. Then I bake it for about 40 mins if it's coming from the frig. This recipe is a winner for sure!! No fail!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This recipe got great reviews! The only changes I made (on the advice of other reviewers) was only using 1 tbsp lemon juice, marinated artichokes, 8 oz cream cheese, 8 oz sour cream. I chose to use the reduced fat cream cheese and reduced fat sour cream. I also used the shredded parmesan, romano, & asiago cheese instead of just parmesan, added a small jar of diced pimentos and 1 extra garlic clove. Everyone loved it!, even if it was reduced fat. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GISELLE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
After reading the reviews I attempted to make this dish with the following modifications: I used marinated artichokes and reduced the garlic content. The dip was excellent but was VERY strong tasting. Next time I will omit the garlic and lemon altogether since the marinated items are so flavorful. NOTE: You should chop your artichokes and spinach very well which makes it a very messy process but worth the effort! If the dip becomes dry (which mine did), just blend in some sour cream. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Wow--This recipe is fabulous. I followed the recipe mostly--but since I tend to like things with lots of garlic and a bit spicy-hot, I added an extra clove of garlic and some red pepper flakes. I was also pleased with how easy this recipe was to make; I had never made a dip like this and was extremely pleased at how simple it was. My only warnings are: (1) unless you are taking this to a large gathering, you may want to half it because it makes a ton of dip! (2) even though you may purchase chopped spinach--chop it again to avoid large pieces. The brand I bought said chopped on the package but there were many whole pieces included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This was the best artichoke dip I have ever made. I did everything the same - except I used marinated artichoke hearts. I halved the recipe for four of us and we had it on baguettes. As soon as I saw that the main ingrediant wasn't mayonnaise, I was sure it would be great (I hate the really greasy types of artichoke dip). This was not greasy in the slightest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I read alot of the reviews and in response to the folks who thought this was dip was thick...try chopping the artichokes and spinach well; mix all the ingredients well (i use an electric mixer) and serve while very warm. Mine scoops up easily with a tortilla chip or cracker. Personally; I don't like spinach OR artichokes; yet I love this dip! I've made it twice and everyone devours it and asks for the recipe. It is garlicky, but fortunately all my friends and family love garlic. I'll definitely be making this dip often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Funnily enough, I've been making this dip for ages before I even noticed the recipe here. My version uses marinated artichoke hearts however, and I add a little shredded Monterey jack for extra oomph. I serve mine with toasted baguette slices or extra thick tortilla chips and it disappears like magic. It's one of those recipes that everyone will ask for by the end of the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Excellent! I liked this recipe better then the last one I tried on this site. Made a few changes...I only used 1 package of cream cheese and 1/3 c. sour cream with the mayo and used 1 jar of marinated artichoke hearts drained and chopped in addition to spinach, garlic and cheese. Yummy...creamy and fabulous when dipped with crusty french bread. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
As written I found this to be just an average dish with little taste. It is too creamy for my taste as well. I would reduce the cream cheese and mayo by 1/2 at least. I added some cayenne pepper and hot sauce and still found it needed more so I dumped in 1/2 package ranch recipe secret mix and that helped a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 841) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States