Floating Islands II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
very easy recipe, I did add more vanilla my grandkids thought it was the best I have made Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
When I baby-sitted my nephew, Randall, I made this! First he looked at me and asked my what it was, i told him. He ate it and all he could say was: "Auntie Jennette do you have anymore!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orangfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Tasty, but the custard came out really thin - more like eggnog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
It came out really good. I cooked it very slow on a very low fire and it did not lump up for me. I added some cardamom into the egg whites (the floating islands things). That came out pretty good, though next time I think I'll add nutmeg into the custard base instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Not as good as I expected. Meringue didn't turn out as shown in the pic, but I tried to follow the instructions as best as I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Flavour was a little weak, but wasn't too bad. If you have a problem with lumps in the custard, make sure that your not over cooking it....you don't want scrambled eggs, and strain it right away when you take it off the stove. That cools it down enough to stops lumps from forming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTHERHEN1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by me
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
this happens to be the recipe that my husbands grandmother used when he was growing up in france. some recipes call for raw egg.....use this recipe instead.....poached is the way to go. we drizzle with caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Yes, you found the right recipe. Some recipes call for raw eggs. Definatley you need to poach the whites as stated. Traditionally, drizzled with caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This recipe is fairly easy, though I had a hard time with lumps. Maybe I over cooked it? I like it enough that I have tried twice now to get it right and am getting closer. I added half of a vanilla bean to the batch and really like the flavor. This is breakfast food right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Townshend, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maya
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
it tastes really good! i garnished it with finely hopped pistachios to give a little colour and a nutty tatse to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Crème Brulee

See how easy it is to make this classic creamy French dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States