Floating Cucumber, Tomato, and Onion Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very good, i love cucumber, tomatoe and onion salad, but never knew how to make it. No one ever told me to add sugar to the vinegar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I make this on a smaller scale. just use 2-3 cucumbers, preferrably a purple onion if I have it, a tomato and vinegar, salt, sugar (I usually use Splenda) & a small amount of salad oil. Have used apple cider vinegar also. You can "play" around with it until you like the proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
My mother always used to make this during the summer with vegetables fresh from her garden. I've been trying to recreate her recipe, this is very close, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Excellent recipe. The only thing I will do different next time is to add about 1/8 cup EVOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My Mother-in-Law loved it. However, my husband said it was too sweet, my son said the cucumbers were soggy, and no one liked the tomato or onions. Good recipe...just not our cup of tea. Also, it doesn't make very good left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I detest celery seed, so I omitted it. This is a lot but the longer it sat the tastier it got.....Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very good! Love the dressing. Only suggestion is to definitely peel off some of the skin of the cucumber to cut down on bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This is my new favorite summer cuke recipe! A nice change from the creamy mix. I used celery salt and some Mediterran salt. Also soaked the cukes in salt for about 20 mins. beforehand. Second time making it, I added yellow and red peppers.. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
8 cups is alot of cucumbers especially when you only have 1 onion and 1 tomato to add in. i used 2 large cucumbers and 1 giant tomato and onion. i cut the sugar quite a bit since a cup and a half seemed like alot to me. i didnt have the celery seed and i did add a shake of garlic salt and pepper after i had let it sit and i tried it. good recipe but i think the amounts might need to be adjusted. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Not bad but very sweet. My mom has made this salad for as long as I can remember. For a more tart version cut the sugar to a pinch and the balsamic altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryCrowell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States