Flea Terminator Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
My vet told me that garlic is a definite no no for dogs. That, along with onions (which, over a period of time can kill either their liver or pancreas...as well as them), tree nuts of ALL kinds (peanuts are not tree nuts and are perfectly safe for dogs), grapes, raisins, are NOT safe for dogs to consume, and neither is chocolate...the caffeine can cause heart attacks. Also, dogs do not need salt or sugar in any form added to their food. Having said all that, I do cook for my dog. Usually it consists of either ground turkey or ground beef, along with potatoes, rice, carrots, peas, green beans, sweet potatoes & hard boiled eggs. I brown the meat, cook the rice, potatoes, swt potatoes, eggs separately, then add the rice and all the other ingredients and cook till heated through. When cool, I put it into muffin tins, or even the silicone cupcake bakeware and cover with tinfoil or slide into a gallon ziplock freezer bag. Once frozen, I dump them all out smaller freezer bags, or even sandwich bags (i.e. 2, or even 3 to a bag), then pack all those bags into a gallon ziplock freezer bag. My dog took awhile getting used to it, but likes it now. I add a bit of mashed up or chopped up pieces of cooked broccoli and stirred that in with it. I switch off with the beef, and leave potatoes out, or leave one of the other ingredients out, just to shake things up a bit. Tomato products stain their coats and cause bad breath btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These cookies get a 5-star rating by my 4 dogs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
fun and easy to make with the kids, of course the dogs loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfurbrain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gypsum, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
These treats were so easy to make & my dog loves them. I followed another reviewer's advice by using "nutritional yeast" in place of "brewers yeast". Also, I made the following changes: "1-cup whole wheat flour", "1/2-cup cornmeal", and included "1 1/2 cups flaxseed meal"--for nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Tiger, Buddy, and Hoover loved these. I hope they work with fleas later. It made a lot of little bone-shaped cut outs. They are still in the fridge in mid January and holding up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
My dachshund loved this!!! thank you!!easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
My Dog absolutely LOVED these! Unfortunately I couldn't find any brewer's yeast, and didn't realize until I had the dough half made that brewers yeast is unlevened... so I used 2 teaspoons of regular yeast instead, and they turned out fine! The texture is a bit softer, and "puffy" but my dog had no trouble chomping these down ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyn MacKenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Easy recipe!!!! But i will reiterate what a previous poster said: Don't make these if you are expecting guests - - the smell is quite strong! I made them on a day when the weather was great so I opened up the windows to air out the garlic odor. My dog loves them... can't speak for the flea repelling quality right now though as he didn't have fleas before.... but will try we flea season comes back around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
both of my puppy's love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
My yorkie absoluetely LOVES these. They do help with fleas, but may not keep them away totally. Since he is small, I roll them thinner than the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States