Flea Terminator Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used the original recipe at first but found they don't last as long, turned moldy. the second time instead of eggs I used two small jars of meat and vegetable baby food. dogs liked them better and they lasted longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I'm not comfortable with using bouillon cubes in my food, let alone my dog's food! I decided to make chicken broth (chopped chicken breast, carrots, green beans, and broccoli) from scratch and go ahead and make the pups some chicken and rice while I was at it. I strained 1 1/2 C of the broth into a measuring cup before I added the rice. I've never used brewers or nutritional yeast before, and I found a web page with descriptions of different yeasts. It listed yeast extract as a substitute for brewers yeast and peanut butter as a substitute for yeast extract. So I threw about 1/2 C of pb into the dry mix with the broth :) Instead of 2 egg yolks, I used 1 egg. I used a 1 1/2 inch star-shaped cookie cutter and they came out super cute! My dogs are picky eaters and they rated this recipe 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XiolaJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
didn't really get rid of the fleas. but the dogs loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
my grandson and i have made this recipe 3 x's now. our dogs love them and it has help with the flea problem. we did not roll them out, (we don't have much counter space.) we did the drop method. adjusting the size as we have 3 different size dogs...the youngest (and biggest)will gobble hers down and try to take the other dogs treat. they don't share either...thanks so much..sol/tc/bs shamrockbell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamrockbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I am so grateful for this recipe.. I have a 9 pound peekapoo and a 90 pound boxer . They both loved the cookies and no fleas .... not one !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
My vet told me that garlic is a definite no no for dogs. That, along with onions (which, over a period of time can kill either their liver or pancreas...as well as them), tree nuts of ALL kinds (peanuts are not tree nuts and are perfectly safe for dogs), grapes, raisins, are NOT safe for dogs to consume, and neither is chocolate...the caffeine can cause heart attacks. Also, dogs do not need salt or sugar in any form added to their food. Having said all that, I do cook for my dog. Usually it consists of either ground turkey or ground beef, along with potatoes, rice, carrots, peas, green beans, sweet potatoes & hard boiled eggs. I brown the meat, cook the rice, potatoes, swt potatoes, eggs separately, then add the rice and all the other ingredients and cook till heated through. When cool, I put it into muffin tins, or even the silicone cupcake bakeware and cover with tinfoil or slide into a gallon ziplock freezer bag. Once frozen, I dump them all out smaller freezer bags, or even sandwich bags (i.e. 2, or even 3 to a bag), then pack all those bags into a gallon ziplock freezer bag. My dog took awhile getting used to it, but likes it now. I add a bit of mashed up or chopped up pieces of cooked broccoli and stirred that in with it. I switch off with the beef, and leave potatoes out, or leave one of the other ingredients out, just to shake things up a bit. Tomato products stain their coats and cause bad breath btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These cookies get a 5-star rating by my 4 dogs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
fun and easy to make with the kids, of course the dogs loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfurbrain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gypsum, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
These treats were so easy to make & my dog loves them. I followed another reviewer's advice by using "nutritional yeast" in place of "brewers yeast". Also, I made the following changes: "1-cup whole wheat flour", "1/2-cup cornmeal", and included "1 1/2 cups flaxseed meal"--for nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Tiger, Buddy, and Hoover loved these. I hope they work with fleas later. It made a lot of little bone-shaped cut outs. They are still in the fridge in mid January and holding up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States