Flax Seed Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Great recipe, I used the kitchen friendly view and made Ziti.... That's what the kitchen view shows, Guess page is experiencing technical difficulties, for me anyway, good luck everybody.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emil micik jr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Yes, I agree it isn't cake but luckily I was looking for a high fiber bread that didn't have an extreme amount of sugar and fat. I have made this many times. I cut it up and freeze then micro it and wahla - breakfast. I may try to reduce the sugar in the next batch as I am working my way to a healthier lifestyle. Thank you Janice, it's a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I wish we could give 1/2 stars because 3 seems too low and 4 seems a little too much. My boyfriend didn't eat a second bite and that is rare because he's usually easy to please. Healthy or not, he's usually easy to please. It didn't sit as well with him as it did me, I enjoyed this recipe. Yeah, it's MOIST (maybe too moist) and dense, rather heavy. It's far from seeming "sin free" to me, lol. I drove up half the loaf to my mother in Indi this morning and she liked it. And she's not one to fib. I am not sure I'll make it again seeing how I'll be the only one eating it. There's too much going on in this recipe if you ask me. The ingredient list never stops and as I said, it's heavy. At any rate, it was fun venturing, thanks Janice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Baked em at 350 for 20 minutes and they came out great, if you want more flavor, simply add more of the flavor you want. Its not difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat_23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is a great way to incorporate healthy foods into a tasty treat. I followed the recipe to the T except for I used the whole can of crushed pineapple. I made muffins and they were done in 25 min. Tastes great and good for ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyle, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
WOW! I love it! It is more bread-y than cake-y, but that didn't stop my husband from smearing cream cheese frosting all over a slice and devouring it!! I can't wait to pop a slice into the toaster oven tomorrow morning. Making the recipe, I baked it for the recommended time and didn't have a problem with it being baked enough. I didn't have any almond extract so I added walnut oil (it's what I had on hand). I will make this again for sure! **EDIT** Crud! The -ends- were perfectly baked but the middle is still kinda gooey. DRAT! Like another reviewer said, maybe it needs a longer time at a slightly lower temperature. *I also think that NOT baking it in a loaf pan would help!!* I'll still give the recipe 5 stars because it's a cook's error and not necessarily the fault of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee Marie
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
A cake it's not, but it makes a really excellent breakfast bread. I omitted the walnuts because I didn't have any, and used 1/2 cup of golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AQUARIUS
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
As other reviewers mentioned, it is more like quickbread. So I baked 12 muffins with this recipe for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. It turned out a little bit dry on surface but inside was okay so I will try lower degrees or shorter time for the next time. Recently using flax seed is a kind of my trend so I used 1/3 cup of ground flax seed. I skipped all-purpose flour and used 1 2/3 cups of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of oat bran. I usually make "Bran Flax Muffins" on this site and am looking for something another as healthy, fiberly and tasty as "Bran Flax Muffins". I am glad to find this could be the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was really tasty, but i wouldn't call it carrot cake as it was not suitable as a dessert. It was more of a dense,fruity quick bread to have with coffee. I'll probably make this again, it is a very healthy and diet friendly recipe for a quick bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
A healthy mix of ingredients that resulted in a nice tasting carrot bread. Thumbs up from my 6 year old. NOTE: Although I tested it with a toothpick, mine still turned out a little goopy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States