Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I haven't made this recipe yet but have a question. My bread machine has settings for 1, 1.5 and 2 lb loaf. This recipe makes 1-1.5 lb loaf. What should I set my machine to? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Great recipe! I liked this bread a lot but found it a tad too sweet so the second time I made it, I reduced the amount of honey to 2 tablespoons. I also reduced the flax seeds to 1/4 cup. I don't know how it turned out as it was a gift for my neighbor but it looked really good. Next time I make it I will make the same alterations and see what it tastes like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Excellent like everyone else is saying! I put 1/2 c. ground flax seed & the whole amount of sunflower seeds plus 1 tsp. of high gluten flour and it turned out wonderfully! I definitely would suggest using the "DOUGH" cycle of your bread machine, then shaping the bread into a boule (round), let proof in warm oven for 20 minutes and baking it in your oven 350 degrees for 30 minutes on a pizza stone. The crust was perfect & my husband is LOVING IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Easy to make without a bread machine. I didn't have whole wheat flour on hand, but this bread still turned out delicious with all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Great bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I used oil rather than butter, 1/4 cup flax seeds whole and 1/4 cup ground ( I prefer the texture of whole seeds), 1/4 cup sunflower seeds and 1/4 cup raw pumkin seeds. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acemulder
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made this bread in the bread machine on the dough cycle and took the advice of other and ground up the flax seed (I used the golden flax seeds). After it was done, I took it out, put it in a glass bread pan sprayed with oil, cover with oiled saran wrap and put in oven with light on (for some heat) and it rose significantly in about 30 to 40 minutes. I cooked it at 350 for 30 minutes and it turned out great--really rose high. I coated the top with butter so the crust would not get hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Very tasty, especially toasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This bread recipe is forgiving. I messed it up in a few different ways. Went to add the sunflower seeds that I had set aside in a mug, and instead dumped a mug of water in. I ended up tossing in more bread flour and a smidge of yeast and sugar to compensate. I also changed the serving size to 21 servings. From there the I substituted 2 tablespoons ground flax seed for some of the whole wheat flour. Used the same amount of flax seeds. The bread was wonderful except that I used salted sunflower seeds. It was like have little chunks of wood in the bread. Without the sunflower seeds it would have been a perfect loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
WILL BE A STAPLE! Delicious bread :P I used a 1/4 ground flax seed....turned out perfectly. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States