Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
An excellent hearty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This bread turned out amazing! So soft and delicious. I used ground flax and substituted pumpkin seeds for sunflower seeds because that's what I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is a fabulous, dense wheat bread with a great texture with the sunflower seeds. Very hearty! Came out perfectly in my bread machine maker. FYI - I used milled flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Very tasty and great texture. Next time will try it 100% whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Love how moist and tasty this bread is. I used whole package of dry active yeast the rest of the recipe I kept the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
We really enjoyed this bread. I am a huge fan of sunflower seeds so I was hoping this would be good. The recipe did not disappoint me. I did increase the yeast to 1 1/2 tsp. Since I have ground flax seeds, that is what I used. I also used white whole wheat flour. Next time I want to add some pumpkin seeds and some old fashioned oats. I love the nutty texture of this bread and it slices nicely. Thank you for sharing this recipe Erna Walmsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was a pretty good wheat bread recipe. I had everything, but had to sub flaxmeal for the seeds . That worked fine. I am just not a fan of the seeds whole. I also used white whole wheat. My sunflower seeds were unsalted and roasted. For some reason the bread machine recipes never suggest warm water. Out of habit I used warm water, and about 105~110 degrees. On the cycle, suggested, it took 3 hrs and 25 minutes in my Zojirushi bread machine. This bread tasted like whole wheat bread and had that healthy flavor. However, it was soft and had an almost buttery aftertaste. Cutting it with my Presto bread guide I got 17 slices at 129 calories each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Came out beautifully!! I used agave nectar and ground flax.I also added a tablespoon full of chia seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THYME4MA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I baked it in the oven after the machine did all the kneading and rising; I may have underbaked it, but won't know for sure until it cools and we get closer to the center of the loaf, but the dough came together beautifully without interference and rose excellently for the right amount of lift to the dense chewiness of the whole-wheat-ness and the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Made this for the first time today, and WOW is it yummy! I didn't have "bread flours" but used all purpose and wheat flours. When the bread machine signaled it was time to add the sunflower seeds, I was worried because the dough seemed SO sticky that it was having a hard time even moving the ball of dough around. I helped it along for a minute or so after I first put added the sunflower seeds, but eventually said "forget it" and decided to let it do its thing. It somehow worked out, and created a beautiful, rich loaf. This bread TOASTED is like heaven on earth. YUM! Will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iScream4icecream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Riverbank, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States