Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I've just spent 16 hours trying to make this bread. I realized early on that there isn't enough yeast in this recipe but decided to make it as is. Well after mixing it together and letting it "rise" for 2 hours, nothing had happened. Since it was evening, I figured I could lose nothing by letting it sit in my lighted oven overnight. Yay! it had risen when I checked it in the morning. So then I punched it down and had to let it do the slow rise again in the bread pan. I gave it about 2 1/2 hours and by the end of that time it had risen to the top of the pan but didn't have a bread dome. I baked it for about 30 minutes at 350 in a glass loaf pan. It looks in both composition and texture like a sweet bread. I don't like the initial taste that I've had but I will give it another chance when it's cool. If I make it again it will take some major tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is the best bread I have ever made in my bread machine. I used sesame seeds instead of flax seed, Self raising wholemeal flour instead of the whole wheat bread flower and a mixture of honey and syrup as I didn't have the correct ingredients. It was delicious!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hoppers Crossing, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I haven't made this recipe yet but have a question. My bread machine has settings for 1, 1.5 and 2 lb loaf. This recipe makes 1-1.5 lb loaf. What should I set my machine to? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Great recipe! I liked this bread a lot but found it a tad too sweet so the second time I made it, I reduced the amount of honey to 2 tablespoons. I also reduced the flax seeds to 1/4 cup. I don't know how it turned out as it was a gift for my neighbor but it looked really good. Next time I make it I will make the same alterations and see what it tastes like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Excellent like everyone else is saying! I put 1/2 c. ground flax seed & the whole amount of sunflower seeds plus 1 tsp. of high gluten flour and it turned out wonderfully! I definitely would suggest using the "DOUGH" cycle of your bread machine, then shaping the bread into a boule (round), let proof in warm oven for 20 minutes and baking it in your oven 350 degrees for 30 minutes on a pizza stone. The crust was perfect & my husband is LOVING IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Easy to make without a bread machine. I didn't have whole wheat flour on hand, but this bread still turned out delicious with all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Great bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I used oil rather than butter, 1/4 cup flax seeds whole and 1/4 cup ground ( I prefer the texture of whole seeds), 1/4 cup sunflower seeds and 1/4 cup raw pumkin seeds. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acemulder
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made this bread in the bread machine on the dough cycle and took the advice of other and ground up the flax seed (I used the golden flax seeds). After it was done, I took it out, put it in a glass bread pan sprayed with oil, cover with oiled saran wrap and put in oven with light on (for some heat) and it rose significantly in about 30 to 40 minutes. I cooked it at 350 for 30 minutes and it turned out great--really rose high. I coated the top with butter so the crust would not get hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Very tasty, especially toasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States