Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I searched for many months for a recipe like this! I have bought this type of bread from the grocery store before and it is always one of my favorites. I am so happy that I found this recipe! I have made it several times now and it always turns out perfect! Now I am searching for the perfect rye bread recipe. This recipe seems to be the perfect combination of flour, liquid and oil. I like how it turns out soft but hearty. So, I plan to try this recipe but change it up for rye bread. Instead of all the whole wheat flour I plan to use 2/3 cup of rye flour and 2/3 cup of whole wheat. I'll add a teaspoon of caraway seeds in place of sunflower seeds. Instead of honey I'll use molasses. Hoping it turns out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is my favorite bread recipe I've found on this site so far. I am a huge fan of sunflower seeds so i may be a tad bias.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeletronis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teemee234
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Excellent! This recipe just replaced our $5/week Good Seed habit! I didn't have wheat flour, so I substituted AP white flour for it, and used bread flour as was called for. Everything else stayed the same (added a pinch more salt per several suggestions) and this bread is AWESOME! Light, fluffy (let it rise total of 3 hrs between punches) and it's not even cool yet, and is already 3/4 gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was my first attempt at making bread in my breadmaker, and it turned out to be one fabulous first bread@! Used roasted unsalted sunflower seeds. Set breadmaker for dough; my breadmaker instructions say to put these in at the start of the 2nd knead cycle, which was 30 minutes into the dough process. Let it rise in a greased loaf pan and baked at 350 for 25 minutes. PERFECTO! We changed what we were eating for dinner so we could have this bread with it. We are in love with this bread and will be making it again. I know it will also be great as toast with jam on it~ Thanks for a great recipe! By the way, my grocery didn't have whole wheat bread flour available, so I just used regular bread flour for the whole amount of flour - no problem. Did not change any of the other ingredients - perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I made this once. It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Very good! I have made this a few times now. I accidentally used milled flax instead of just flax seeds and it was so much better and moist than the "correct" version. Although both versions were good, I think I will stick with the milled flax from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I modified another bread machine recipe to something almost exactly like this recipe (even before I found this one). I like making the dough in the machine and baking the bread in the oven. For the most recent loaf, I subbed molasses for the honey for a richer flavor. I also cut the dough into 3 pieces, rolled out into "snakes," and braided them together. Takes a little longer to bake (closer to 50-60 minutes) but very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This bread is so good. I increased the water to 1 1/2C. and added 1/2 c. chopped sliced almonds, 2T. sesame seeds. 2T. Poppy seeds and 2T. Steel cut oats and 3 T. old fashioned oats. I inceassed the yeast to 2 1/2 t. Better then all the store bought multigrain breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda MacKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
this is my all time favorite bread. I did't have sunflower seeds so I used ground up almonds once and used chopped pecans the next time. I also used flax oil instead of butter. Make sure you grind up whole flax seeds. i used my electric coffee grinder. I rate this as a 10 plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Excellent great rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States