Flavorful Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is a great and very flavorful recipe for fried chicken. I always soak my chicken in salt water first to get the blood out. It make the chicken a lot more aestheically pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I tried this recipe and I thought it was pretty good but dry. I mixed the flour with the parmasean cheese and the spices because the recipe directions doesn't tell you what to do with the flour. After fixing the chicken I think that you should probably dredge the chicken in the flour and then in the milk and then in the bag with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This recipe did not turn out at all like a good fried chicken. the batter hardly stuck to the chicken at all and it was basically just chicken tenders with no batter. the batter also tasted like straight parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I tried this recipe very helpful but I used 2 eggs scrambled mixed with a little seasoning salt in place of the milk. It helps the mixture turn into a very crunchy, flavorful skin. Also the salt should be at least 1 tsp to give a good southern flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
My son used to say that I cooked the best fried chicken but I think this recipe is better. I think it's the parmesan cheese that makes it so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: North Highlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I added crushed red pepper to the flour and the other spices and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellport, New York, USA
Living In: Blue Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I found it very flavorful, but did have to re-dip the chicken in milk and then back in the mixture to get a good coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was the best recipe where the crust actually stayed on the chicken legs. Panko bread crumbs are the best. Did not add the salt. Next time (and there will be one) will up the garlic and onion powders. Maybe even add some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
very good. i like the crisp outside and moist inside will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lussier25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
While this isn't the best fried chicken I've ever had, it was perfect for what I needed! I was out of eggs and cornstarch and buttermilk (what kind of cook am I?) so that pretty much ruled out all of the other recipes. We tossed them in bbq sauce and dipped in ranch as a football game appetizer. I double dipped between milk/crumb mixture as many reviewers suggested, and there was plenty of breading after fried. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States